Further and Higher Education Student Support Review Group


This group is responsible for reviewing student support to ensure the system is focused on meeting the needs of all students in further and higher education.

It was set up in 2016 and its remit includes exploring the:

  • most effective support for the poorest and most vulnerable students
  • balance of support available to those in further and higher education
  • current repayment threshold and period for student loan debt

It is due to report to Ministers by autumn 2017.


  • Jayne-Anne Gadhia - CEO Virgin Money (chair)
  • Paul Lowe - Student Award Agency Scotland (SAAS)
  • Vonnie Sandlan - NUS Scotland (until June 2017)
  • Phillip Whyte - NUS Scotland (until June 2017)
  • Linda Somerville - NUS Scotland
  • Luke Humberstone - NUS Scotland
  • Shona Struthers - Colleges Scotland
  • Lousie Macdonald - Young Scot
  • Annag Maclean - Headteacher, Castlebay High
  • Angela Toal - Child Poverty Action Group (CPAG)
  • Dr John Kemp - Scottish Funding Council (SFC)
  • Alastair Sim - Universities Scotland
  • Erin McAuley MSYP - Scottish Youth Parliament
  • Russell Gunson - IPPR Scotland
  • Yvonne MacDermid OBE - Money Advice Scotland (CAB)
  • John Gallacher - UNISON