Career Pathways for Teachers: Independent Panel

Role of the group

The Extended Joint Chairs of the Scottish Negotiating Committee for Teachers (SNCT) agreed that an independent panel should be established to consider the design and development of teacher career pathway models.

This is part of the Education Governance: Next Steps paper.

We established the Independent Panel on Career Pathways on SNCT's behalf in June 2018.

The Panel will engage broadly with the teaching profession in Scotland in order to develop a range of models of career pathways to enable the development of different and exciting careers in teaching. New pathways should provide opportunities for teachers to diversify their career, act to support high quality teaching and learning while helping to deliver excellent education outcomes for pupils.

The Panel will:

  • consider different options for pathways. This will include considering international evidence and previous Scottish policy interventions. New pathways would include subject specialism, curricular leadership, pedagogical leadership and support for learning
  • develop a Stakeholder Engagement Strategy and engage with the teaching profession and wider education sector through a variety of mechanisms, such as focus groups
  • explore the link between career pathways and qualifications (e.g. masters level learning or new forms of initial teacher education)
  • make recommendations as to how teachers undertaking these new roles might be remunerated. The Panel has been tasked to identify exciting, flexible pathways and opportunities for teachers, including Head teachers

Recommendations will be drafted and presented in a report to the Scottish Negotiating Committee for Teachers by the end of the year.

Career Pathways survey for teachers and stakeholder organisations

This online survey gives teachers and organisations the chance to express their views and work with the Careers Pathways for Teachers Panel to shape the future pathways for the profession.

To support this survey, the Panel has looked at what career pathways already exist in other countries. You can find out more about these in the literature review link in the Documents section at the bottom of this page.

Take part in Career Pathways survey for teachers 

Take part in Career Pathways survey for stakeholder organisations 

Please note the survey closes on 25 October 2018.  

Upcoming regional events:

Date City Address Time
Tuesday 25 September Dundee Coleside Campus, 15 Alexander Street, Dundee, DD3 7DL 4pm to 5.30pm
Wednesday 3 October Aberdeen Harlaw Academy, 18-20 Albyn Place, Aberdeen, AB10 1RG 4pm to 5.30pm
Thursday 4 October Inverness

Millburn Academy, Diriebught Road, Inverness, IV2 3QR

4pm to 5.30pm
Wednesday 10 October Kilmarnock St Joseph's Academy, Grassyards Road, Kilmarnock, KA3 7SL 4pm to 5.30pm
Thursday 11 October Edinburgh Drummond High School, 41 Bellevue Place, Edinburgh, EH7 4BS 4pm to 5.30pm
Tuesday 23 October Glasgow Bellahouston Academy, 30 Gower Terrace, Glasgow, G41 5QE 4pm to 5.30pm


  • Independent Chair: Moyra Boland
  • ADES: John Fyffe
  • SOLACE: Angela Wilson (West Dunbartonshire Council)
  • SPDS: Kristine Johnson (Stirling Council)
  • COSLA: Kathy Cameron
  • Education Scotland: Gillian Hamilton
  • General Teaching Council for Scotland: Ken Muir
  • Scottish Government: David Leng, Stuart Robb
  • Scottish Government secretariat: Angela Felvus, Nicola Annan

Teacher organisations

  • EIS: Andrea Bradley, Jayne Rowe
  • VOICE: Dougie Atkinson
  • SSTA: Fiona Dalziel
  • NASUWT: Jane Peckham
  • SLS Scotland: Jim Thewliss
  • AHDS: Tim Wallace
  • Universities/Scottish Council of Deans of Education: Neil Taylor