Social care - Independent Review Panel minutes: May 2023

Minutes from the meeting held on the 9 May 2023.

Attendees and apologies

Stuart Currie, Vice Chair, Independent Review of Inspection, Scrutiny and Regulation (IRISR) 

Independent Review Panel Members (the panel)

  • David Strang
  • Kate Sang
  • Lee Knifton
  • Lillian Cringles
  • Megan Moffat
  • Neelam Bakshi
  • Paul Redfern
  • Satjit Singh

Scottish Government personnel and secretariat 

  • Kerry Brooks
  • Arlene Crockett
  • Daniel Nagy
  • Iain MacAllister


Sue Bruce Chair, Independent Review of Inspection, Scrutiny and Regulation (IRISR)

Items and actions

Approval of minutes from April meeting

The panel approved the minutes.

IRISR progress so far

Updating the panel on current progress of the IRISR, the Vice Chair confirmed that throughout the Review, he and the Chair engaged with a wide range of stakeholders and were able to meet with key expert witnesses, resulting in the gathering of extensive evidence to inform the Chair’s recommendations. An evidence review of key reports and relevant independent reviews has also taken place.

The panel revisited a discussion on timescales and logistics of drafting and publishing the IRISR report.

Further reflections by the Chair

The Chair of the IRISR was absent due to personal reasons, and therefore this item was not addressed.

Any other business

No other business was raised.

Next meeting

The next panel meeting will take place on Tuesday 13th June 2023 from 11 am to 1pm at the COSLA office.

Back to top