The role of public sector bodies in tackling climate change: consultation

We are seeking your views on the way that information and knowledge are shared between public sector bodies; whether public bodies should set targets for themselves to achieve zero greenhouse gas emissions; and on proposed changes to the mandatory reporting duties.

Annex B: Public Sector Bodies currently required to report

180 Public Sector Bodies are currently required to submit annual reports on their climate change activity. They can be divided into the following categories:

  • Educational institutions
  • Integration Joint Boards
  • Local government
  • National Health Services
  • Transport Partnerships 
  • Others

In 2011, the Scottish Government set out an expectation that some Public Sector Bodies should be particularly ambitious with regard to climate change action (Public Bodies Climate Change Duties: putting them into practice  This guidance defined ‘major players’ as bodies with large estates and/or staff numbers, high impact and influence, large expenditure, or those with an auditing or regulatory function. The 2015 Order introduced “Listed bodies” who would be explicitly required to report.  

Educational Institutions (44)

Abertay University
Ayrshire College
Borders College
City of Glasgow College
Dumfries and Galloway College
Dundee and Angus College
Edinburgh College
Edinburgh Napier University
Fife College
Forth Valley College
Glasgow Caledonian University
Glasgow Clyde College
Glasgow Kelvin College
Glasgow School of Art
Heriot-Watt University
Inverness College UHI
Lews Castle College UHI
Moray College UHI
New College Lanarkshire
Newbattle Abbey College
North East Scotland College
North Highland College UHI
Orkney College UHI
Perth College UHI
Queen Margaret University
Robert Gordon University
Sabhal Mor Ostaig UHI
Scotland’s Rural College
Shetland College UHI
South Lanarkshire College
The Open University in Scotland
The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
University of Aberdeen
University of Dundee
University of Edinburgh
University of Glasgow
University of St Andrews
University of Stirling
University of Strathclyde
University of the Highlands and Islands
University of the West of Scotland
West College Scotland
West Highland College UHI
West Lothian College

National Health Service (19)

NHS Ayrshire and Arran
NHS Borders
NHS Dumfries and Galloway
NHS Education for Scotland
NHS Fife
NHS Forth Valley
NHS Grampian
NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
NHS Highland
NHS Lanarkshire
NHS Lothian
Common Services Agency
NHS Orkney
NHS Shetland
NHS Tayside
NHS Western Isles
The National Waiting Times Centre Board
The Scottish Ambulance Service
The State Hospitals Board for Scotland

Transport (7)

Highlands and Islands Transport Partnership (HITRANS)
North-East of Scotland Transport Partnership (NESTRANS)
Shetland Transport Partnership (ZetTrans)
South-East of Scotland Transport Partnership (SESTRAN)
South-West of Scotland Transport Partnership (SWESTRANS)
Strathclyde Partnership for Transport (SPT)
Tayside and Central Scotland Transport Partnership (TACTRAN)

Local Authorities (32)

Aberdeen City Council
Aberdeenshire Council
Angus Council
Argyll and Bute Council
City of Edinburgh Council
Clackmannanshire Council
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles Council)
Dumfries and Galloway Council
Dundee City Council
East Ayrshire Council
East Dunbartonshire Council
East Lothian Council
East Renfrewshire Council
Falkirk Council
Fife Council
Glasgow City Council
Inverclyde Council
Midlothian Council
Moray Council
North Ayrshire Council
North Lanarkshire Council
Orkney Islands Council
Perth and Kinross Council
Renfrewshire Council
Scottish Borders Council
Shetland Islands Council
South Ayrshire Council
South Lanarkshire Council
Stirling Council
The Highland Council
West Dunbartonshire Council
West Lothian Council

Other Reporting Bodies (48)

Accountant in Bankruptcy
Audit Scotland
Creative Scotland
Disclosure Scotland
Education Scotland
Food Standards Scotland
Highlands and Islands Enterprise
Historic Environmental Scotland
Revenue Scotland
Scottish Canals
Scottish Enterprise
Scottish Environment Protection Agency
Scottish Natural Heritage (SNH)
Scottish Water
Skills Development Scotland
Scottish Sports Council
The Cairngorms National Park Authority
Social Care and Social Work Improvement Scotland
The Chief Constable of the Police Service of Scotland
The Crofting Commission
The James Hutton Institute
The Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park Authority
The Moredun Research Institute
The National Galleries of Scotland
The National Library of Scotland
The National Museums of Scotland
The National Records of Scotland
The Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator
The Registers of Scotland
The Registrar General of Births, Deaths and Marriages of Scotland
The Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh
The Scottish Children's Reporter Administration
The Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service
The Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
The Scottish Further and Higher Education Funding Council
The Scottish Government
The Scottish Housing Regulator
The Scottish Legal Aid Board
The Scottish Parliament
The Scottish Police Authority
The Scottish Prisons Service
The Scottish Public Pensions Agency
The Scottish Public Services Ombudsman
The Scottish Qualifications Authority
The Scottish Social Services Council
The Students Awards Agency Scotland
Transport Scotland

Integration Joint Boards (IJBs; 30)

Aberdeen City IJB
Aberdeenshire IJB
Angus IJB
Argyll and Bute IJB
City of Edinburgh IJB
Clackmannanshire and Stirling IJB
Dumfries and Galloway IJB
Dundee City IJB
East Ayrshire IJB
East Dunbartonshire IJB
East Lothian IJB
East Renfrewshire IJB
Falkirk IJB
Fife IJB
Glasgow City IJB
Inverclyde IJB
Midlothian IJB
Moray IJB
North Ayrshire IJB
North Lanarkshire IJB
Orkney IJB
Perth and Kinross IJB
Renfrewshire IJB
Scottish Borders IJB
Shetland IJB
South Ayrshire IJB
South Lanarkshire IJB
West Dunbartonshire IJB
West Lothian IJB
Western Isles IJB



Back to top