Report of the Infant Cremation Commission

Report examining current practice regarding the cremation of infants and making recommendations for improvement for the future.

Annex B - Infant Cremation Commission Full List of Members

Chair: Rt. Hon Lord Bonomy

Secretariat: Alison Kerr
Sarah Dillon
Norman Dowie (Investigative Role)




John Birrell

NHS Bereavement Coordinators and Scottish Grief and Bereavement Hub

James Blackburn

Head of Funerals at Scotmid Co-operative Funeral Directors. Representative for the National Association of Funeral Directors (NAFD)

Gareth Brown


Head of Blood, Organ Donation and Sexual Health, Scottish Government

Ian Kearns

Team Leader, Burial Grounds/Registrars, Inverclyde Council.

Helena MacLaren

Miscarriage Association

Ann McMurray


Dr Mini Mishra


Senior Medical Officer, Scottish Government

Tim Morris

Chief Executive of Institute of Cemetery and Crematoria Management (ICCM)

Gillian Morton

Head of Midwifery, NHS Forth Valley

Rick Powell

Secretary & Executive Officer of Federation of Burial and Cremation Authorities. (FBCA)

Garrick Smyth


Gavin Stevenson

Chief Executive, Dumfries and Galloway Council


Email: Sarah Dillon

Back to top