Public appointments: Non-executive Members reappointed to the Board of Independent Living Fund Scotland

Public appointments news release.

The Minister for Social Care, Mental Wellbeing and Sport, Maree Todd MSP today announced the reappointments of Mr Etienne d’Aboville and Mrs Anne-Marie Monaghan as Members of the Board of Independent Living Scotland.


Etienne d’Aboville has been An active member of the Disabled People’s Independent Living Movement (ILM) since 1985, Etienne was closely involved in campaigning for disabled people’s right to manage their own support through direct payments.  After spells developing innovative services and promoting co-production in various Disabled People’s Organisations (DPOs), Etienne spent over 25 years as Chief Executive of Glasgow Centre for Inclusive Living, a DPO that provides a range of support, training, housing and employment services. 

Etienne has sat on numerous advisory and consultation bodies on independent living and SDS, including the Programme Board which helped establish ILF Scotland.  He was, until recently, an occasional editor of the academic journal Disability and Society and is also vice-chair of Community Renewal, which works to transform communities by empowering and engaging individuals in community activity to improve their health, learning and employability.  Etienne brings to the Board extensive personal and professional experience of social care support policy and practice.  In 2022 he was awarded an honorary doctorate by Glasgow University in recognition of his contribution to the ILM.

Anne-Marie Monaghan brings significant experience of working in social work and understanding of public sector systems and processes.  She has been involved in the development of self-directed support since the outset and ran the first Scottish Government test site.  Anne-Marie is an advocate for the community brokerage model and delivers on the SQA accredited award.  She understands the social care context where she promotes and upholds the social model of disability to ensure people with disabilities can exercise their rights as citizens.  She has living experience of disability and contributes to the work of ILF from a range of perspectives.


These reappointments are for four years, from 1 September 2023 to 31 August 2027 and are regulated by the Ethical Standards Commissioner.


The appointment is part-time and attracts a remuneration of £186.31 per day for a time commitment of one day per month.

Other ministerial appointments

Mrs Anne-Marie Monaghan is a Non-executive Member of the Board of NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde for which she receives £173.66 per day for a time commitment for a time commitment of two days per week.

Mr Etienne d’Aboville does not hold any other public appointments.

Political activity

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity within the last five years (if there is any to be declared) to be made public.   

Mr d’Aboville, and Mrs Monaghan have had no political activity within the last five years. 


The Independent Living Fund (ILF) Scotland is a Non Departmental Public Body (NDPB), governed by a Board of Directors, appointed by and accountable to Scottish Ministers. ILF Scotland operates as a discretionary fund providing financial awards to approx. 4,500 disabled people in Scotland and Northern Ireland to help them live independently. This funding enables individuals to pay for support so that they can live with control, choice and dignity in their homes and within their local communities. This includes the 2015 Fund, which provides a regular 4-weekly independent living payment and the Transition Fund for 16-25 year-olds, providing grants, for up to one year, to support young disabled people.

Back to top