Non-Scottish Government individual consulted for input for Request Building a New Scotland paper: FOI release

Information request and response under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002.

Information requested

  1. The names of any non-Scottish Government individual consulted for advice or input for the Scottish Government's 'Building a New Scotland - A stronger economy with independence' paper. This should include but not be limited to any non-staff individual involved in a Scottish Government economic advisory board, committee, or panel, as well as other independent individuals contacted by the Scottish Government for their views.


Some of the information you have requested has been published previously:

Policy meetings regarding potential Independence Referendum: FOI release - (

Scottish Government officials and Ministers have discussions with a wide range of people outside government that relate to the matters covered by 'Building a New Scotland - A stronger economy with independence'. As the publication draws on policy development work over a wide range of topics over many years it is not possible to give a definitive list of such discussions. However, there has been recent contact with the following people listed below, in addition to the people mentioned in the previous FOI response. This has often involved discussion on the broader themes in the paper as opposed to providing specific advice or input.

  • David Eiser – Fraser of Allander Institute – Strathclyde University
  • Mairi Spowage - Fraser of Allander Institute – Strathclyde University
  • Dr Gemma Tetlow – Institute for Government
  • Thomas Pope – Institute for Government
  • Mark Blyth – Watson Institute – Brown University
  • David Phillips – Institute for Fiscal Studies
  • Professor Graeme Roy – University of Glasgow
  • Graeme Blackett – BiGGAR Economics
  • David Lonsdale – Scottish Retail Consortium
  • Ewan MacDonald-Russell - Scottish Retail Consortium
  • Stephen Ingledew – Fintech Scotland
  • Barry White – National Strategy for Economic Transformation Delivery Board
  • John Ireland – Scottish Fiscal Commission
  • Elaine Lorimer – Revenue Scotland
  • Philip Whyte – Institute for Public Policy Research
  • Ewan Hunter – The Hunter Foundation
  • James Varga – Direct ID
  • Dr Don McLean – Integrated Environmental Solutions
  • Ian Smith – Diageo
  • David Cairns – Equinor
  • Roz Foyer – Scottish Trade Union Congress
  • Professor David Raey - Climate Emergency Skills Action Plan Implementation Group
  • Karen Meechan – ScotlandIS
  • Hannah Gilbert – UK Chamber of Shipping
  • Pamela Smith – Clydespace
  • Seamus Leheny – Logistics UK
  • Professor John Bachtler – Strathclyde University
  • Anna Ritchie Allan – Close the Gap
  • Dr Angela O’Hagan – Glasgow Caledonian University

About FOI

The Scottish Government is committed to publishing all information released in response to Freedom of Information requests. View all FOI responses at


Please quote the FOI reference
Central Enquiry Unit
Phone: 0300 244 4000

The Scottish Government
St Andrews House
Regent Road

Back to top