Publication - Strategy/plan

Climate change - Net Zero Nation: public engagement strategy

Sets out our overarching framework for engaging the people of Scotland in the transition to a net zero nation which is prepared for the effects of our changing climate.

Climate change - Net Zero Nation: public engagement strategy
Endnotes

Endnotes

1 ‘Net zero’ is a situation in which the amount of greenhouse gases put into the atmosphere balances out with the amount removed, leaving a net result of zero emissions.

2 Analysis of Responses to Consultation: Net Zero Nation – Draft Public Engagement Strategy for Climate Change (2021) https://www.gov.scot/publications/net-zero-nation-draft-public-engagement-strategy-climate-change-consultation-analysis/

3 Transport Scotland (2020) COVID-19 Analysis https://www.transport.gov.scot/coronavirus-covid-19/analysis/

4 NatureScot (2020) Enjoying the outdoors: Monitoring the impact of Coronavirus and social distancing https://www.nature.scot/enjoying-outdoors-monitoring-impact-coronavirus-and-social-distancing-latest-survey-results-october

5 Wrap (2020) Citizen insights – Clothing behaviours during Covid-19 restrictions https://www.wrap.org.uk/content/clothing-behaviours-during-covid-19-restrictions-citizen-insights

6 Wrap (2020) Citizens and food during lockdown https://www.wrap.org.uk/content/citizens-and-food-covid-19-lockdown

7 Scottish Government (2020) Economic Recovery Implementation Plan: Scottish Government response to the Advisory Group on Economic Recovery https://www.gov.scot/publications/economic-recovery-implementation-plan-scottish-government-response-to-the-advisory-group-on-economic-recovery

8 Climate Change Committee (2019) Net Zero – The UK’s contribution to stopping global warming https://www.theccc.org.uk/publication/net-zero-the-uks-contribution-to-stopping-global-warming/

9 De Laigue, L. (2021) Lifestyle change and system change are two sides of the same coin https://climateoutreach.org/lifestyle-change-system-change-two-sides-same-coin/#LifestyleReport

10 Scottish Household Survey 2019 Annual Report https://www.gov.scot/publications/scottish-household-survey-2019-annual-report/

11 See Annex B for a report of progress against key indicators.

12 The ISM Tool was created by the Scottish Government in 2013. It is a tool that encourages users to engage with the individual, social and material contexts which influence individual and societal behaviours. See more: https://www.gov.scot/publications/influencing-behaviours-moving-beyond-individual-user-guide-ism-tool/

13 The Scottish Government Participation Framework https://blogs.gov.scot/open-government-partnership/wp-content/uploads/sites/43/2018/08/Demsoc-SPF-Implementation-Options-Paper.pdf

14 Information on Scotland’s National Performance Framework and how Scotland is performing against it is available at: https://nationalperformance.gov.scot/

15 Scottish Government (2020) The Big Climate Conversation: Report of Findings https://www.gov.scot/publications/report-findings-big-climate-conversation/

16 https://www.ipcc.ch/sr15/

17 https://www.ipcc.ch/report/sixth-assessment-report-working-group-i/

18 Climate Outreach (2019) Mainstreaming low-carbon lifestyles https://climateoutreach.org/resources/mainstreaming-low-carbon-lifestyles/

19 Mulholland, C. Pollok, M. Townend, R. Black, C. Gray, E. Ipsos MORI. (2020) Understanding and engaging the public on climate change. ClimateXChange https://www.climatexchange.org.uk/media/4231/understanding-and-engaging-the-public-on-climate-change.pdf

20 Corner A, Clarke J. (2017) Talking climate: from research to practice in public engagement. Cham: Palgrave Macmillan.

21 Just Transition Commission (2020) Interim Report https://www.gov.scot/publications/transition-commission-interim-report/

22 IAP2 (2018) Spectrum of Public Participation https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.iap2.org/resource/resmgr/pillars/Spectrum_8.5x11_Print.pdf

23 Further information about Adaptation Scotland is available at https://adaptationscotland.org.uk/

24 Adaptation Capability Framework https://www.adaptationscotland.org.uk/how-adapt/your-sector/public-sector/framework

25 https://era.ed.ac.uk/handle/1842/37511

26 Survey conducted by Censuswide in June 2019 with representative sample of 2000 adults (aged 16+) in UK, commissioned by Triodos Bank https://www.triodos.co.uk/articles/2019/how-is-the-environmental-crisis-making-us-feel

27 BBC Newsround survey with 2000 children (aged 8-16) published March 2020 https://www.bbc.co.uk/newsround/51451737

28 https://www.climateassembly.scot/full-report

29 https://www.climateassembly.scot/sites/default/files/inline-files/Climate%20Anxiety.pdf

30 More information on the Scottish Government’s approach to climate conversations is available at: https://www.climatexchange.org.uk/research/projects/climate-change-public-conversations-series/

31 Scottish Household Survey 2019 Annual Report https://www.gov.scot/publications/scottish-household-survey-2019-annual-report/

32 https://www.nature.scot/scotlands-biodiversity/make-space-nature

33 https://en.unesco.org/sites/default/files/esdfor2030-berlin-declaration-en.pdf

34 https://www.teachthefuture.uk/teacher-research

35 Climate Emergency Response Group (2020) Interim Progress Report https://www.changeworks.org.uk/sites/default/files/CERG_Interim_Progress_Report.pdf

36 Scottish Government (2019) Climate Ready Scotland: climate change adaptation programme 2019-2024 https://www.gov.scot/publications/climate-ready-scotland-second-scottish-climate-change-adaptation-programme-2019-2024/

37 Lexico (no date) ‘Climate Emergency’ https://www.lexico.com/definition/climate_emergency

38 U.S. Global Change Research Program (2007) Climate Literacy: the Essential Principles of Climate Science https://www.climate.gov/teaching/essential-principles-climate-literacy/essential-principles-climate-literacy

39 The Royal Society (2014) The Basics of Climate Change https://royalsociety.org/topics-policy/projects/climate-change-evidence-causes/basics-of-climate-change/?gclid=CjwKCAiAtK79BRAIEiwA4OskBn6PmR4rctAqWZz5jHQgHhC6i-SLiCnWFRL7z33YkC2Nd7tMjDEudxoCJRkQAvD_BwE

40 Ritchie, H. and Roser, M. (2020) Greenhouse Gas Emissions https://ourworldindata.org/greenhouse-gas-emissions

41 OECD (no date) Focus on Green Recovery https://www.oecd.org/coronavirus/en/themes/green-recovery

42 OECD (no date) Open Government https://www.oecd.org/gov/open-government/

43 More information on the Open Government Partnership is available at https://www.opengovpartnership.org/about/

44 Gurria, A. (2019) The Economy of Well-Being https://www.oecd.org/about/secretary-general/the-economy-of-well-being-iceland-september-2019.htm


Contact

Email: ClimateChangeEngagement@gov.scot