First Minister's Environmental Council: first report, key priorities and future work programme

This is the first report by the First Minister’s Environmental Council. It notes Scotland’s ambitions and response to the twin crises, international examples of environmental action, and sets out the directions of the future work programme for the Council.

Annex 1

List of First Ministers Environmental Council Members

Name / Affiliation

Co-Chair - Professor Sir Ian L Boyd FRSB FRSE FRS - University of St Andrews, President-elect of the Royal Society of Biology

Professor Ian Bateman OBE, US-NAS, FBA, FRSA, FRSB - Director of Land, Environment, Economics and Policy Institute, University of Exeter Business School

Gordon Buchanan MBE - Award-winning wildlife camera-man and presenter

Revati Campbell - Member of the First Minister's National Advisory Council on Women and Girls, RSA Young People's Economic Security Advisory Group and University of Glasgow

Professor Gretchen Daily - Bing Professor of Environmental Science, Stanford University, USA Faculty Director – The Natural Capital Project

Professor Sandra Diaz, ForMemRS - National University of Cordoba, Argentina

Susan Davies FRSB - Chief Executive, Scottish Seabird Centre

Erin Fowler - Historic Environment Scotland

Dame Ellen MacArthur DBE - Founder & Chair of Trustees Ellen MacArthur Foundation

Professor Yadvinder Malhi CBE FRS - Professor of Ecosystem Science, University of Oxford

Dr Ece Özdemiroğlu - Founding director of eftec (economics for the environment consultancy)

Dr Dilys Roe - Principal Researcher and Team Leader (Biodiversity) and Chair, IUCN Sustainable Use and Livelihoods Specialist Group (SULi), International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED)

Dame Julia Slingo FRS - Chief Scientist of the UK Met Office (2009 -2016)

Professor Pete Smith FRS, FRSE, FNA, FEurASc, FI Soil Sci., FRSB - Professor of Soils & Global Change, University of Aberdeen



Back to top