Publication - Minutes

Independent Panel on Career Pathways for Teachers minutes: 17 January 2019

Published: 23 Jan 2019
Date of meeting: 17 Jan 2019
Date of next meeting: 28 Jan 2019
Location: Educational Institute of Scotland (EIS) 46 Moray Place, Edinburgh EH3 6BH

Note of the sixth meeting of the Independent Panel on Career Pathways for Teachers, held on 17 January 2019.

23 Jan 2019
Independent Panel on Career Pathways for Teachers minutes: 17 January 2019

Attendees and apologies


Moyra Boland (Chair), Deputy Head of School at the University of Glasgow

David Leng, Scottish Government

Stuart Robb, Scottish Government

John Fyffe, ADES

Kathy Cameron, COSLA

Gillian Hamilton, SCEL

Andrea Bradley, EIS

Jayne Rowe, EIS

Fiona Dalziel, SSTA

Jane Peckham, NASUWT

Kristine Johnson, SPDS

Jim Thewliss, SLS

Angela Felvus, Scottish Government – Support/Secretariat 


Angela Wilson, SOLACE

Neil Taylor, Scottish Council of Deans Education

Clare Hicks, Scottish Government

Dougie Atkinson, VOICE

Tim Wallace, AHDS

Ken Muir, GTCS

David Roy, Scottish Government    

Alison Weatherston, SCEL

Items and actions

Welcome and apologies

The Chair welcomed attendees to the sixth meeting on Career Pathways.

Apologies were received from the above. 

The actions of the previous meeting were agreed.  

Actions from meeting 

CP 2018/43:  Moyra/David  review principles and to ensure they embed with all pathways.

CP 2018/44:  Chair/David/Stuart to redraft recommendations.

CP 2018/45:  Chair to redraft Masters and HT papers

CP 2018/46:  Kristine Johnson to bring along examples of shared leadership to 28 January meeting.

Date of next meeting and discussion

Monday 28 January 2019