Implementation of the Flood Risk Management (Scotland) Act 2009: report to the Scottish Parliament

Progress of work being carried out through the implementaion of the Flood Risk Management (Scotland) Act 2009.

Annex A – Communities supported by the Scottish Flood Forum

Table 1: Summary of SFF recovery support 2016 – 2018 (to Sept 18)

2016 2017 2018 (to Sept)
Recovery Programme for large scale events
Recovery Surgeries >324 105 166
PLP exhibitions >75 13 40
PLP Visits in flooded properties >688 184 468
Requests for Information
No of Information Line calls dealt with >447 192 78
No of enquiry email address dealt with >141 368 787
Small scale, localised flooding support:
No of households supported 93 97 86
Emerging Community Resilience Groups*
#groups in area flooded supported to start 5 11 6
# groups being supported still emerging from recovery 10 20
Mediation requests from:
Client 13 37
Local Authority 30 15
MSPS 4 4 13

List of communities supported by the Scottish Flood Forum in each year:

Dumfries and Galloway – Carsphairn, Newton Stewart, Moffat
Aberdeenshire – Ballater, Banchory, Aboyne, Kintore, Inverurie, Port Elphinston, Kemnay, Fraserburgh, Methlick, Peterculter and Ellon
Argyle and Bute – Campbeltown, Clachan
Highland – Wick, Strathpeffer, Tain, Marybank, Tarvie
East Ayrshire - Lochranza, Irvine,
West Dunbartonshire - Alexandria, Balloch
Perth and Kinross Council Dunkeld
Stirling Council -Stirling,
S Lanarkshire - Lanark,
E Renfrewshire – Barrhead

Aberdeenshire (supported due to ongoing effects of 2015/16 flooding) – Ballater, Banchory, Aboyne, Kemnay, Inverurie, Kemnay
Moray – Portknockie, Hopeman
Highland & Islands – Dingwall, Strathpeffer, Inverness, Granton-on-Spey, Stornoway, Glendale (Isle of Skye)
Perth and Kinross – Bankfoot, Pitlochry area
Angus - Carnoustie and area
North Ayrshire - Kilwinning
East Ayrshire - Kilmarnock
Dumfries and Galloway – Carsphairn, Newton Stewart, Moffat
Scottish Borders Council - Eyemouth (2), Galashiels
Edinburgh (surface water) – Colinton Mains Road, Lanark Road, Balerno

East Dunbartonshire, Glasgow area, Moray, Dumfries and Galloway, Fife, Arran, Aberdeenshire, Stornoway, Orkney, Argyll and Bute and Highlands and Islands.


Email: Gordon Robertson

Back to top