Homes that don't cost the earth: a consultation on Scotland's Sustainable Housing Strategy - Responses

The consultation paper set out the Scottish Government's vision for warm, high quality, affordable, low carbon homes and a housing sector that helps to establish a successful low carbon economy across Scotland. We want everyone in Scotland to live in high quality, sustainable homes that they can afford and that meet their needs. We want to hear your views, so that we can work together to achieve this.

This consultation focused on five main themes which emerged from a Greener Homes Summit held in November 2011. These were:

  • A national retrofit programme to tackle fuel poverty, make sure we reach the climate change milestones set for housing and enable Scottish households and businesses to get the full benefit from energy company and other investment.
  • Standards - to consider the role that regulation could play, alongside incentives, in driving uptake of energy efficiency measures.
  • Financial market transformation to create long-term change in perception among surveyors, lenders and consumers of the real value of low carbon, energy efficient homes.
  • New build market transformation to maximise the potential of the innovative design and construction techniques being developed by Scottish companies to create greener homes and neighbourhoods, which will in turn create export and other economic opportunities.
  • Skills and training to capitalise on opportunities to make Scotland a market-leader in providing and exporting low-carbon housing solutions.


These themes will be the basis for the final Sustainable Housing Strategy for Scotland, which will take account of responses to the consultation and will be published in 2013.

Respondent - B018
Carwyn Littlewood
Christopher Allan
Dorothy Jackson
Dr Penelope Watson
Dr Sue Fuller
Elisabeth McKay
Frances Sinclair
Gillian Lawrence
Ingrid Knight
Jan Crosthwaite
Katrine Paterson
Lesleymay Miller
Mr Dave Du Feu
Mr Dave Richards
Mr Duncan McLaren (Sweden)
Mr George Nicol
Mr John Lynn
Mr Martin Sherring
Mrs Marie MacRae
Ms Susan Farquharson
Sheila Hepburn
Palmer, Quentin
Aberdeen City Council - A031
Aberdeen Housing Partnership - A011
Aberdeenshire Council - A018
ACHA - A059
Albyn Housing Assoc - A049
Angus Council - A015
Argyll and Bute Council - A023
Assoc for Conservation of Energy - A067
Association for Consultancy and Engineering - B011
Association of Local Authority Chief Housing Officers - A024
Calor Gas - B004
Castlerock Edinvar - A040
Cernach Housing Association - A005
Changeworks - A032
Chartered Institute of Housing - A027
Chief Fire Officers Association for Scotland - B010
City of Edinburgh Council - A065
Clackmannanshire Council - A041
Clyde Valley Housing Assoc - A020
Comhaile nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles Council ) - A047
Consumer Focus Scotland - A021
COSLA - A010
Council of Mortgage lenders - A039
Creative Energy Services - B001
Dumfries and Galloway Housing Partnerships - A006
Dundee City Council - A003
East Ayrshire Council - A012
East Lothian Council - A035
East Renfrewshire Council - A038
Electrical Safety Council - B002
Energy Action Scotland - A019
Energy Agency - B015
Energy Saving Trust - A063
Existing Homes Alliance - A017
Falkirk Council - A044
Federation of Master Builders - A029
Fife Council - A004
Glasgow and West of Scotland Forum - A034
Glasgow City Council - A025
Glasgow Housing Association - A036
Hacking and Paterson - B012
Healthy Environment Network NHS Health Scotland - B020
Highland Council - A048
Homes For Scotland - A037
Inverclyde Council - A046
Lanarkshire Housing Association - A009
Link Group - A058
Loreburn Housing Association - A064
Manor Estates Housing Association - A007
Moray Council - A022
Age Scotland - A062
Construction Skills - A028
NFRC Scotland - A001
NHBC - B019
NHS Health Scotland - A002
North Lanarkshire Council - A054
Orkney Housing Association Ltd - A013
Partick Housing Association - A050
Port of Leith Housing Association - A030
Queen's Cross Housing Association - A026
Redpath Bruce - B006
Renfrewshire Council -A033
RICS Scotland - A055
Rockwool Ltd - B016
Scottish Federation Of Housing Association - A052
Scottish Borders Council - A068
Scottish Building Federation - A014
Scottish Council for Development and Industry - B021
Scottish Ecological Design Association - B013
Scottish Environment Protection Agency - A016
Scottish Lands and Estates - B022
Scottish Managed Sustainable Network - B005
Scottish Property Federation - A053
Shelter Scotland - A061
South Lanarkshire Council - A066
SSE - A057
Stewart Milne Group - A008
Strathclyde Fire and Rescue Services - B009
The Royal incorporation for Architects in Scotland - B007
Transition Linilithgow - B008
Waterwise - B003
West Lothian Council - A045
WWF Scotland - A042
Back to top