It's Our Future - Independent Review of Qualifications and Assessment: report

Final report of the Independent Review of Qualifications and Assessment in Scotland.

Appendix 9.6 Review activity – Meetings, Events and Visits


Professor Hayward met the following individuals and organisations as part of the Review.

  • Alison Preuss, Scottish Home Education
  • Ana Stewart, Women in Enterprise Review
  • Andrew Paterson, AI the future of Education, report and website
  • Angela Morgan, Convenor of Review of additional support for learning implementation
  • Association of Directors of Education in Scotland
  • Association of Headteachers and Deputes in Scotland Union
  • Awards Network
  • Autism Resource Coordination Hub, South Lanarkshire
  • Ben Murray, Ireland's approach to qualifications
  • BOSCH Headteachers Group
  • Carol Campbell & Alma Harris, National Discussion
  • Carole Ford & Frank Lennon, Reform Scotland’s Commission on School Reform
  • Children in Scotland, Inclusion Ambassadors
  • Chris Ross, Children in Scotland, Youth Ambassadors
  • Christian Ydesen, Denmark's approach to qualifications
  • Christopher DeLuca, Canada's approach to qualifications
  • Clare Wyatt-Smith, Queensland's approach to qualifications
  • Curriculum and Qualifications and Performance and Improvement Networks
  • Daydream Believers
  • Desmond Bermingham, The Australian Council for Educational Research, UK
  • Developing the Young Workforce, National Leads Network
  • Dr Pauline Stephen, The General Teaching Council for Scotland
  • Education Children and Young People Committee
  • Education Scotland
  • Education Scotland, Timetabling Group
  • Esther Papworth, Support for learning teacher, Dumfries Academy
  • Gaelic Medium Education Stakeholders Group
  • Gender Equality Taskforce in Education and Learning
  • Gina Wilson, Head of Strategy Children's Commissioner
  • Grahame Smith, Careers Review, Skills Development Scotland
  • Mark Nixon, Home Education Scotland
  • James Withers, Review of the Skills Delivery Landscape
  • Jim Metcalfe, College Development Network
  • John Edward, Director General, Regions Group, UK Government
  • Kevin Kelman, NHS Scotland Academy
  • Learned Societies’ Group on Scottish STEM Education
  • Matthew Sweeney, COSLA
  • Moira Fischbacker Smith and Martyn Hendry, Glasgow University
  • Michael Marra MSP, former Party Spokesperson on Education, Scottish Labour
  • National Council for Curriculum and Assessment
  • NASUWT, Teachers Union
  • Ross Greer MSP, Party Spokesperson on Education, Scottish Green Party
  • Oliver Mundell MSP, former Party Spokesperson on Education, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Professor Clare Peddie, Vice-Principal Education, University of St Andrews
  • Professor Dame Sally Mapstone, St Andrews University
  • Re-thinking Assessment Group Advisory Group
  • Royal Society of Edinburgh
  • Scottish Catholic Education Services
  • Scottish Council for Development and Industry
  • Scottish Secure Care Units, Heads of Service
  • School Leaders Scotland
  • Skills Development Scotland
  • Steve McCreadie, The Lens
  • The Federation of Small Businesses
  • Teachers group, Highland Council - Primary, Secondary, CLD, ELC
  • Tom Bewick & Paul Eeles, Federation of Awarding Bodies
  • Willie Rennie MSP, Party Spokesperson on Education, Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Young Scot
  • Youth Scotland
  • Youthlink Scotland


Professor Hayward and the independent secretariat have discussed the Review at the following events and meetings:

  • Anti Racism in Education Programme Board
  • Association of Directors of Education in Scotland, Curriculum, Assessment and Qualifications Network
  • Awards Network Member Event
  • Children in Scotland, Voices Forum
  • COSLA, Children and Young Person Panel
  • Curriculum and Assessment Board
  • Dundee Headteachers Conference
  • Edinburgh Headteachers Conference
  • Education Reform Programme Board
  • International Council of Education Advisers (ICEA)
  • OECD
  • Royal Society of Edinburgh Committee
  • School Leaders Scotland Conference
  • School Leaders Scotland Webinar
  • Scottish Government, Teacher Panel Group
  • Scottish Learning Festival
  • Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) Consultation Workshop
  • SCQF School and College Ambassadors Event
  • Voices Panel, Children in Scotland
  • Women in Enterprise Review, Bute House
  • Youthlink Scotland and Scottish Parliament Cross Party Group

School and College Visits

Professor Hayward and the independent secretariat visited the following settings as part of the Review:

  • All Saints Secondary
  • Autism Resource Coordination Hub (ARCH)
  • Anderson High School
  • Banff Academy
  • Beath High School
  • Borders College
  • Craigroyston High School
  • Forth Valley College
  • Galashiels Academy
  • Good Shepherd Centre
  • Grove Academy
  • Invergarven School
  • James Gillespie’s High School
  • Kelvinside Academy
  • Kibble Education Centre
  • Larbert High School
  • Mearns Castle High School
  • Oban High School with video link discussion with Tiree School
  • Royal Blind School, Edinburgh
  • St Leonards
  • The Community School of Auchterarder



Back to top