List of Scottish Government special advisers 2021: FOI release

Information request and response under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002

Information requested

A list of Scottish Government special advisers as of March 24, 2021 and their area of expertise as well as for a list of Scottish Government special advisers as of August 5, 2021, and their area of expertise.


Some of the information you have requested is available from Written question and answer: S5W- 36009 | Scottish Parliament Website. Under section 25(1) of FOISA, we do not have to give you information which is already reasonably accessible to you.

You may be interested to know that the current list of Special Advisers and their areas of responsibility can be found at Written question and answer: S6W-00255 | Scottish Parliament Website.

On 5th August 2021, the following Special Advisers were in post:

  • Colin McAllister
  • Stuart Nicolson
  • Jeanette Campbell
  • Ewan Crawford
  • Leanne Dobson
  • Jennie Gollan
  • Davie Hutchison
  • Ross Ingebrigtsen
  • John MacInnes
  • Emily Mackintosh
  • Callum McCaig
  • John McFarlane

About FOI

The Scottish Government is committed to publishing all information released in response to Freedom of Information requests. View all FOI responses at


Please quote the FOI reference
Central Enquiry Unit
Phone: 0300 244 4000

The Scottish Government
St Andrews House
Regent Road

Back to top