The Scottish Government COVID-19 Advisory group names: FOI release

Information request and response under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002.

Information requested

Can you supply me with the names of the Government scientists that are inform the public on Covid restrictions please.


The Scottish Government established the Covid-19 Advisory Group to provide advice on the scientific and technical concepts and processes that are key to understanding the evolving COVID-19 situation and potential impacts in Scotland. The advisory group applies the advice coming to the four nations from the Scientific Advisory Group on Emergencies (SAGE) and other appropriate sources of evidence and information, such as the World Health Organisation (WHO), and uses it to provide advice to the Chief Medical Officer and Ministers in order to inform their decisions on Scottish aspects of the pandemic.

The advisory group is chaired by Professor Andrew Morris, Professor of Medicine at the University of Edinburgh and Director of Health Data Research UK. He is supported by vice chair Professor David Crossman, Dean of Medicine at the University of St Andrews and Chief Scientist (Health) at the Scottish Government. A full list of the advisory group's members, together with their remit, minutes of their meetings and evidence papers considered by the group can be found on the Scottish Government website at Scottish Government COVID-19 Advisory Group - (

About FOI

The Scottish Government is committed to publishing all information released in response to Freedom of Information requests. View all FOI responses at


Please quote the FOI reference
Central Enquiry Unit
Phone: 0300 244 4000

The Scottish Government
St Andrews House
Regent Road

Back to top