Publication - FOI/EIR release

Aberdeen Harbour Expansion Project at Nigg Bay marine licence 05965/16/0: EIR Review

Information request and response under the Environmental Information (Scotland) Regulations 2004.

Published:
31 May 2019
Aberdeen Harbour Expansion Project at Nigg Bay marine licence 05965/16/0: EIR Review
FOI reference: FOI/19/01004 Review
Date received: 25 Apr 2019
Date responded: 21 May 2019
Information requested

 

You asked for:

1.       “Copies of any and all revisions to Marine Licence  - Construction 05965/16/0 issued on 4 November 2016 including any revisions issued after 15 August 2018 by Marine Scotland (MS-LOT) in relation to blasting and/or drilling issued to Aberdeen Harbour Board for the Aberdeen Harbour Expansion Project at Nigg Bay

2.       Copies of all Approval Letters or other authorization to proceed letters / messages issued by Marine Scotland (MS-LOT) to Aberdeen Harbour Board for marine drilling and/or blastng for the Aberdeen Harbour Expansion Project at Nigg Bay

3.       Copies of all applications and submissions including Drilling & Blasting Methodology, CEMD or other construction methodologies submitted by Aberdeen Harbour Board and/or Dragados UK to Marine Scotland (MS-LOT) after 1 June 2018 in relation to blasting and/or drilling for the Aberdeen Harbour Expansion Project at Nigg Bay”

 

 

Response

 

Further to my email of 20 May 2019, I have now completed my review of our response to your request under the Environmental Information (Scotland) Regulations 2004 (EIRs). 

I have concluded that the original decision should be confirmed, with modifications. 

Review of information held by Marine Scotland and discussions with colleagues from MS LOT Business and Operational Delivery has determined that: 

No revisions have been made or issued to Marine Licence  - Construction 05965/16/0 after 15 August 2018, nor have any new applications for construction and blasting been received at the time of this review. 

Further information was available relating to blasting and/or drilling authorisation requests and approvals since 01 June 2018. Copies of these messages have been attached.

Some information (names and contact details of individuals) has been redacted from that supplied.  This is because an exception under regulation 11(2) (personal data) of the EIRs applies to this information.  It is personal data of a third party and disclosing it would contravene the data protection principles in Article 5(1) of the General Data Protection Regulation and in section 34(1) of the Data Protection Act 2018. This exception is not subject to the ‘public interest test’, so we are not required to consider if the public interest in disclosing the information outweighs the public interest in applying the exception. 

This is all the information we hold in relation to blasting/drilling authorisation requests and approvals. 

 

About FOI

The Scottish Government is committed to publishing all information released in response to Freedom of Information requests. View all FOI responses at http://www.gov.scot/foi-responses.

Contact

Please quote the FOI reference
Central Enquiry Unit
Email: ceu@gov.scot
Phone: 0300 244 4000

The Scottish Government
St Andrews House
Regent Road
Edinburgh
EH1 3DG