There are 5 COVID-19 Protection Levels (0-4). The rules you have to follow depend on the level for your council area.

We have set out the vaccine milestones we hope to reach over the summer and, based on those, the path we hope to take out of COVID-19 restrictions and back to greater normality in our day to day lives. See our proposed timetable for these changes.

Council area Protection Level
Aberdeen City  Level 1 
Aberdeenshire Level 1 
Angus Level 1 
Argyll and Bute Level 1
some Argyll and Bute islands are at Level 0 - see below
Edinburgh (City of) Level 2 
Clackmannanshire Level 2 
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Level 0 
Dumfries and Galloway Level 1 
Dundee City  Level 2 
East Ayrshire Level 2 
East Dunbartonshire Level 2 
East Lothian Level 1  
East Renfrewshire Level 2 
Falkirk Level 1
Fife Level 1
Glasgow City Level 2

Level 1
some Highland islands are at Level 0 - see below

Inverclyde Level 1 
Midlothian Level 2 
Moray Level 1 
North Ayrshire Level 2 
North Lanarkshire Level 2 -
Orkney Islands Level 0
Perth and Kinross Level 1
Renfrewshire Level 2 
Scottish Borders Level 1
Shetland Islands Level 0
South Ayrshire Level 2 
South Lanarkshire Level 2 
Stirling Level 2 
West Dunbartonshire Level 1
West Lothian Level 1

Scottish islands 

Islands at Level 0 are:

  • Orkney, Shetland
  • Na h-Eileanan Siar
  • all islands in Highland (except Skye)
  • Argyll and Bute islands of Coll, Colonsay, Erraid, Gometra, Iona, Islay, Jura, Mull, Oronsay, Tiree and Ulva


Email: Covid19OutbreakManagement@gov.scot

First published: 11 May 2021 Last updated: 22 Jun 2021 -