HRH Duke of Edinburgh, 10 June 1921 to 9 April 2021 Read more

Publication - Advice and guidance

Coronavirus (COVID-19): local protection levels

Published: 2 Apr 2021
Last updated: 2 Apr 2021 - see all updates

Coronavirus restrictions remain in place. Find out the rules on what you can and cannot do.

Coronavirus (COVID-19): local protection levels
Protection levels by area

COVID protection levels by area

The rules you have to follow depend on the level in your local council area.

Mainland Scotland and some islands are at Level 4 with guidance to stay local. Some islands are at Level 3.  

 Our timetable for easing restrictions sets out how and when we plan to lift the current coronavirus restrictions over the coming weeks and months.

Council area Protection level
Aberdeen City  Level 4
Aberdeenshire Level 4
Angus Level 4
Argyll and Bute* Level 4
Clackmannanshire Level 4
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles)    Level 3  
Dumfries and Galloway Level 4
Dundee City  Level 4
East Ayrshire Level 4
East Dunbartonshire Level 4
East Lothian Level 4
East Renfrewshire Level 4
Edinburgh (City of) Level 4
Falkirk Level 4
Fife Level 4
Glasgow City Level 4
Highland** Level 4
Inverclyde Level 4
Midlothian Level 4
Moray Level 4
North Ayrshire Level 4
North Lanarkshire Level 4
Orkney Islands Level 3 
Perth and Kinross Level 4
Renfrewshire Level 4
Scottish Borders Level 4
Shetland Islands Level 3 
South Ayrshire Level 4
South Lanarkshire Level 4
Stirling Level 4
West Dunbartonshire Level 4
West Lothian Level 4

*the following islands in Argyll and Bute are at level 3: Coll, Colonsay, Erraid, Gometra, Iona, Islay, Jura, Mull, Oronsay, Tiree, and Ulva.

** all islands in Highland are in level 3, except the Isle of Skye which is at Level 4.




First published: 2 Apr 2021 Last updated: 2 Apr 2021 -