Bellwin Scheme: threshold levels 2018-2019

Information about the threshold levels for the Bellwin Scheme for providing emergency financial assistance to local authorities.

For 2019 to 2020 year see  Bellwin Scheme: threshold levels 2019-2020

Calculation of the threshold levels

  1. Expenditure threshold levels have been applied to the Scheme from its inception on the assumption that local authorities will budget to cover a proportion of the costs of emergency incidents from within internal resources.

  2. Threshold levels apply to the whole financial year, not to each incident within the financial year.

  3. The threshold levels will represent 0.2% of a local authority's budgeted net revenue expenditure and, for 2018-2019, are as follows:

Local Authority Threshold level (£s)
Aberdeen City 879,880
Aberdeenshire 1,087,295
Angus 515,870
Argyll and Bute 485,468
Clackmannanshire 237,146
Dumfries and Galloway 697,342
Dundee City 695,046
East Ayrshire 554,294
East Dunbartonshire 490,464
East Lothian 462,052
East Renfrewshire 460,504
Edinburgh, City of 1,972,778
Eilean Siar 219,710
Falkirk 687,922
Fife 1,583,188
Glasgow City 2,932,661
Highland 1,130,606
Inverclyde 391,030
Midlothian 401,961
Moray 404,442
North Ayrshire 666,750
North Lanarkshire 1,453,107
Orkney 162,826
Perth and Kinross 660,174
Renfrewshire 755,130
Scottish Borders 520,146
Shetland Islands 224,696
South Ayrshire 525,916
South Lanarkshire 1,388,722
Stirling 429,360
West Dunbartonshire 429,506
West Lothian 768,512
Back to top