Terminal Illness Stakeholder Reference Group (SHRG)


The group is no longer active. Work to ensure the smooth implementation of the CMO’s Guidance is being taken forward by the Terminal Illness National Implementation Group.

The overall purpose of this Reference Group is to support the deliberations of the Working Group (SLWG). It is representative of patients and their carers and will provide worked examples to inform and enrich the Chief Medical Officer (CMO) guidance. In particular, the Reference Group is expected to:

  • use its knowledge, expertise and experience in the field to inform the discussions of the SLWG via the Reference Group’s Chair
  • provide worked examples, developed with individuals with lived experience, to enable the SLWG to include examples in the CMO guidance to assist registered medical practitioners who will be required to apply this guidance in practice


  • Mark Hazelwood (Chair) – Chief Executive Officer, Scottish Partnership for Palliative Care
  • Richard Meade – Head of Policy and Public Affairs, Marie Curie Scotland
  • Susan Webster – Head of Policy and Campaigns, MND Scotland
  • Andrew Strong – Assistant Director, The ALLIANCE
  • Niall Sommerville – Policy Manager, MS Society Scotland
  • Trisha Hatt – Strategic Partnership Manager, Macmillan Cancer Support
  • Eilidh MacDonald – Policy and Advocacy Manager, Hospice UK
  • Kylie Strachan – Senior Policy and Public Affairs Officer, British Heart Foundation
  • Tanith Muller – Parkinson’s UK Scotland
  • Rob Gowans – Policy Officer, Citizen’s Advice Bureau
  • Jim McGoldrick – Disability and Carers Benefits Expert Advisory Group for Social Security Scotland
  • Katherine Byrne – Policy Manager, Chest Heart and Stroke Scotland
  • Dr Linda De Caestecker (Chair of the Short-Life Working Group) – Director of Public Health, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde