Standing Council on Europe


This group is no longer active.


The First Minister's Standing Council on Europe was established in July 2016. Members will consider the impact of proposed changes to the UK's relationship with the EU on Scottish interests, and advise Ministers throughout our Brexit negotiations on the best way to secure Scottish interests and objectives.


  • Chair: Professor Sir Anton Muscatelli, Principal and Vice Chancellor, University of Glasgow
  • Malcolm Burr, Chief Executive, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar
  • Vasco Cal, former economic adviser at the European Commission
  • Professor Sir David Edward, European Court Judge
  • Dame Anne Glover, former chief scientific adviser to President Barosso
  • Charles Grant, Centre for European Reform, London
  • Sir John Grant, former UK Permanent Representative to the EU
  • Professor John Kay, financial markets
  • Lord Kerr, diplomat, deputy chair ScottishPower, Carnegie Trust
  • Dame Mariot Leslie, diplomat
  • David Martin
  • Professor Alan Miller, former chair of the Scottish Human Rights Commission
  • The Rt Hon Sir George Reid, former Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament
  • Alyn Smith, MP
  • Grahame Smith, STUC, Scotland Europa
  • Professor Andrew Scott, University of Edinburgh
  • Fabian Zuleeg, European Policy Centre, Brussels




Email: Central Enquiries Unit

Back to top