Secure Care Strategic Board


The Secure Care Strategic Board was set up to to lead the development of a strategic approach to responses to children and young people in, and on the edges of, secure care in Scotland.

The Board met for the last time in December 2018 and reported to Ministers in February 2019. A new working group - the Secure Care Group - has been established since then to oversee the completion of the remaining tasks of the Board. 

The board agreed to complete the outstanding work on secure care standards for Scotland and the next round of commissioning due to start on 1 April 2020.

Related groups


  • Donald Henderson (Chair), Scottish Government, Deputy Director Care and Protection and Care and Justice
  • Alex Little, NHS Scotland: Child Health
  • Andrew Sloan, Care Inspectorate
  • Angus Gillon, St Mary's Kenmure
  • Ann Kivlin, Education Scotland
  • Beth-Ann Logan, Children's Hearing's Scotland
  • Boyd McAdam, Children's Hearing's Scotland
  • Carole Richardson, Rossie Young People's Trust
  • Jane Johnstone, Scottish Government, Professional Social Work Advisor
  • Jane O'Donnell, COSLA
  • Jim Gillespie, Kibbble
  • Kate Rocks, Social Work Scotland
  • Laura Beveridge, Nominated by Who Cares Scotland
  • Neil Hunter, Scottish Children's Reporter Administration
  • Roisin McGoldrick, Good Shepherd
  • Teresa Medhurst, Scottish Prison Service
  • TBC, Edinburgh Secure Services
  • Julie Welsh, Scotland Excel
  • Stephen McLeod, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Liz Brabender, Independent Care Review
  • David Doris, Scottish Government
  • Alison Gough, Secure Care National Advisor