Coronavirus (COVID-19): Scottish Tourism Recovery Taskforce


The Scottish Tourism Recovery Taskforce (STRT), led by the Cabinet Secretary for Rural Economy and Tourism and the Minister for Business, Fair Work and Skills,  is responsible for strategic oversight of, challenging, and advising on, recovery plans in response to the Covid-19 impact on Scottish tourism and hospitality.  

The STRT is responsible for ensuring that the tourism recovery plan is fully coordinated with wider Scottish Government and other relevant sectoral recovery plans, and with our tourism strategy Scotland Outlook 2030. It will also take into account in its activity, wider actions being taken by the UK Government, other devolved administrations and international best practice, including that of the European Union.  

The taskforce is expected to be a short life group running from June to September 2020. 


  • Malcolm Roughead, CEO, VisitScotland
  • Marc Crothall , CEO, Scottish Tourism Alliance
  • Willie Macleod, Executive Director, UK Hospitality in Scotland
  • Stephen Leckie, CEO of Crieff Hydro and Chair STA 
  • Angela Vickers, Apex Hotels, Chair HIT Scotland
  • Gordon Dewar, CEO, Edinburgh Airport
  • Freda Newton, MD, Jacobite Cruises
  • Robbie Drummond, CEO Calmac
  • Duncan McConchie, SOSE board, owner of Laggan Outdoors
  • Peter Duthie MD of SEC
  • David Sutherland, Director, North Highland Escapes
  • Jeanette Wilson, British Holiday and Home Parks Assoc
  • Rebecca Brooks, CEO Abbey Tours, VS Board
  • Alastair Dobson, MD, Taste of Arran
  • Mark Tate, Scottish Chambers of Commerce  
  • Calum Ross  Proprietor, Loch Melfort Hotel, Chairman UKH Scotland, HIE Board
  • Malcolm Buchanan, Chair of Scotland Board RBS
  • Lucy Husband, Scotland Food and Drink, UK Market Development Director
  • Susan Morrison, ASVA, CEO Scotch Whisky Experience
  • Susan Russell, Chair, Women in Tourism
  • Lord Thurso, Chair, VisitScotland
  • Stephen Montgomery, President, SLTA
  • Alan Rankin, Chief Executive, Sail Scotland
  • Caroline Millar, Go Rural for Business
  • Jane Martin, Managing Director, Business Services and Advice, Scottish Enterprise
  • Professor Anna Leask, Tourism  and Languages Subject Group, The Business School, Edinburgh Napier University
  • Colin Smith, CEO, Scottish Wholesale Association
  • Richard Hardy, Prospect Union
  • Stephen Deans, Unite Union
  • Lucy Byatt, Director, the Hospitalfield Trust, Arbroath.
  • Suzanne Cumisky, Chair SLAED, Perth and Kinross Council
  • Paul Togneri, Scottish Beer and Pub Association


Back to top