Palliative and end of life care: National Implementation Advisory Group


The National Implementation Advisory Group was set up in 2016 to advise Scottish Ministers on the implementation of the Strategic Framework for Action on Palliative and End of Life Care.

The group is made up of representatives from selected stakeholder organisations, clinical and care professions, and specific leads for each of the commitments to support improvements to the delivery of palliative and end of life care across Scotland.


  • Geoff Huggins (Chair), Director, Health and Social Care Integration, Scottish Government
  • Alison Taylor, Head of Integration Division, Scottish Government
  • Tim Warren, Palliative and End of Life Care Policy Lead, Scottish Government
  • Helen Stevens, Senior Policy Manager, Scottish Government
  • Catherine Devlin, Policy Manager, Scottish Government
  • Ron Culley, Chief Officer, Western Isles IJB
  • Mark Hazelwood, Chief Executive, Scottish Partnership for Palliative Care (SPPC)
  • Donald Macaskill, Chief Executive, Scottish Care
  • Peter McLoughlin, Strategic Planning Programme Manager, NHS Lothian
  • Christina Naismith, National Lead for Strategic Commissioning, Scottish Government
  • Amy Dalrymple, Director of Operations for Alzheimer Scotland,  Alzheimer Scotland
  • Bridget Johnstone, Chair, Scottish Palliative Care Research Forum, University of Glasgow and NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • David Clark, Director of Interdisciplinary Studies, University of Glasgow
  • Jackie Stone, Chief Executive, St Columba's Hospice
  • Richard Meade, Head of Policy and Public Affairs, Marie Curie Scotland
  • Thomas Monaghan, Head of Implementation and Improvement, Healthcare Improvement Scotland
  • Paul Leak, Integrated Resource Framework Lead, Scottish Government
  • Marjory Marshall, Health Economist, Scottish Government
  • John Nugent, Senior Medical Officer for Primary Care, Scottish Government
  • Alpana Mair, Deputy Chief Pharmaceutical Officer, Scottish Government
  • Beth Hall, Policy Manager, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA) COSLA
  • Jeremy Keen, Chief Medical Officer Specialty Advisor Palliative Medicine
  • Jane Johnstone, Social Work Adviser, Scottish Government
  • Alison Connelly, Chief Director of Nursing and AHP'S, NHS National Education Scotland
  • Leslie Whyte,  NHS National Education Scotland
  • Maria McGill, Chief Executive, Children's Hospice Association Scotland
  • Pat Carragher, Chair, Scottish Children and Young People‚Äôs Palliative Care Executive (SCYPPEx), SCYPPEx
  • Ann Holmes, Associate Chief Nursing Officer, Scottish Government
  • Phillip Gillespie, Head of Learning and Development, Scottish Social Services Council (SSSC)
  • Alison Upton (TBC), Scottish Social Services Council (SSSC)
  • Sally Shaw, Service Manager Strategic Inspection (Adults), Care Inspectorate
  • Sandra Campbell, Macmillan Nurse Consultant for Cancer and Palliative Care, HIS / Royal College of Nursing (RCN)
  • Jamie Begbie, Senior Policy Manager, Scottish Government
  • Paul Baughan, GP, NHS Forth Valley
  • Janice Turner, Principal Educator: Medical Education, NHS National Education Scotland
  • Patricia Brooks, Young  Royal College of Nursing (RCN)


Back to top