Building and Fire Safety: Ministerial Working Group


This ministerial working group is overseeing a review of building and fire safety regulatory frameworks, and any other relevant matters, to help ensure that people are safe in Scotland's buildings, and make any recommendations for improvement as required.

The initial focus of the group is on high rise domestic buildings, following the Grenfell Tower fire in London. It will also consider other buildings including housing, NHS estate, schools and prisons.

The group will identify and take forward immediate actions in order to provide appropriate reassurance to residents and communities about their safety. In addition, the group will identify medium to long-term actions to be taken forward, which will include fire and safety advice and the adequacy of current fire and building regulatory frameworks.

The group will ensure Parliament is updated and respond to any requests as appropriate. It will continue to work with the UK Government and devolved administrations, and will take technical advice as required in order to inform its considerations.

Building and fire safety working group: work programme

The UK Government’s Independent Expert Panel on Fire Safety was established after the Grenfell Tower fire in June 2017. As part of its work, the panel advised the UK Government to establish a research project to test and improve the evidence available on the behaviour of a range of non-aluminium composite materials (ACM) used in cladding systems when subjected to fire.

Following advice from the expert panel, the UK Government commissioned a large scale fire test on a high pressure laminate (HPL) cladding system on 11 July 2019. The results from this large scale fire test can be found on the UK Government website with a subsequent advice note being produced for building owners on buildings with HPL cladding systems over 18 metres tall.

The UK government is undertaking an investigation into the fire door industry and has issued guidance to building owners and occupiers.


The group has three sub-groups to concentrate on specific categories of work:


  • Aileen Campbell, Cabinet Secretary for Communities and Local Government (Chair)
  • Kevin Stewart, Minister for Local Government, Housing and Planning
  • Ash Denham, Minister for Community Safety
  • Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
  • Scottish Government officials

News releases