Ministerial Strategic Group for Health and Community Care


This was a key strategic decision taking group in relation to transformational change in health and community care in Scotland. The group was chaired by the Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport and the COSLA Spokesperson for Health and Social Care.

The group was established in 2008 to provide a forum in which leaders from health and social care could meet to discuss matters of mutual interest and to provide leadership and direction. Key roles for the group in the past were focussed around the health and social care integration agenda, including early contributions to Reshaping Care for Older People, delayed discharge and the legislation establishing health and social care partnerships.

The work of the Ministerial Strategic Group for Health and Community Care has now concluded, with its last meeting taking place in January 2020. Much progress has been made to implement the 25 proposals set out in the group’s review of integration final report and an update on progress made against these proposals was provided to the Health and Sport Committee by the then Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport in February 2021. A subsequent update was provided as part of the Committee’s pre-budget scrutiny in December 2021, (see recommendation 3 and Annex B).

However, there is still outstanding work to do to ensure the success of integration across Scotland. While some of this work will be taken forward by the establishment of the new National Care Service, the Scottish Government will continue to identify and progress improvements within the current system during the establishment of the National Care Service (NCS). We will take forward this work with Integration Authorities, their Chief Officers, Boards and stakeholders to realise the full potential of integration and ensure that the people of Scotland get the right support, in the right place, at the right time, no matter their care needs.


  • Jeane Freeman MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport
  • Joe FitzPatrick MSP, Minister for Public Health, Sport and Wellbeing
  • Clare Haughey MSP, Minister for Mental Health
  • Cllr Alison Evison, COSLA President (Aberdeenshire Council)
  • Cllr Stuart Currie, Interim COSLA Health and Social Care Spokesperson
  • Cllr Rachael King, COSLA Health and Social Care Board (Orkney Islands Council)
  • John Wood, COSLA (lead officer for health and social care)
  • Andrew Kerr, SOLACE (Edinburgh City Council)
  • Ian Kinniburgh, Representing NHS Board Chairs Group (NHS Orkney)
  • Cathie Cowan, Representing NHS Chief Executives Group (NHS Forth Valley
  • Peter Murray, Chair, IJB Chair and Vice Chair Network (East Lothian IJB)
  • Vicky Irons, Chair, Chief Officers Network (Angus IJB)
  • Jackie Irvine, President, Social Work Scotland

  • Prof James McGoldrick, Convenor, Scottish Social Services Council (SSSC)

  • Carole Wilkinson, Chair, Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • Peter Macleod, Chief Executive, Care Inspectorate

  • Donald Macaskill, Chief Executive, Scottish Care

  • Iain Buchan, Director, Scottish Care

  • Michelle Carruthers, Board Member SCVO (Chief Executive Foodtrain)

  • Annie Gunner Logan, Director, Coalition of Care and Support Providers in Scotland (CCPS)

  • Dr Carey Lunan, Chair, RCGP Scotland

  • Theresa Fyfe, Director, RCN Scotland

  • Dr David Chung, Vice President, RCEM Scotland

  • Dr John Thomson, Vice Chair, RCEM Scotland

  • Janice McNee, Convener, AHP Federation Scotland (AHPFS)




Back to top