Homelessness: Temporary Accommodation Standards Framework Working Group


This group is no longer active.


A short term working group was established to help produce a new standards framework for temporary accommodation, identify if legislative changes were required and consider how the final framework can be applied and regulated.  

The Scottish Government worked in partnership with a range of stakeholders to develop and produce a new temporary accommodation standards framework, ensuring that equality (including disability), health (including mental health) and lived experience impacts were considered in the development of the framework.

Work is continuing to identify the most appropriate legislative route to implement the temporary accommodation standards framework. 


  • Jim Hayton, Scotland’s Housing Network (Chair)
  • Rhiannon Sims, Crisis
  • Eileen McMullan, Scottish Federation of Housing Associations
  • Ashley Campbell, Chartered Institute of Housing
  • Mike Callaghan, COSLA
  • Hugh Hill, Simon Community Scotland
  • Brian Stewart, Edinburgh, Lothian’s and Borders Hub
  • John Mills, ALACHO and Fife Council
  • Lisa Borthwick, Shelter Scotland
  • Allan Jones, North and Islands Hub
  • Hazel Young, Wheatley Group
  • Moira Bayne, Housing Options Scotland
  • Yvette Burgess, Housing Support Enabling Unit
  • Andrea Elliot, North Ayrshire Council
  • Karen Grieve, Scottish Government
  • Myra Quinn, Scottish Government


Homelessness: Temporary Accommodation Standards Framework Working Group - terms of reference

Back to top