Grouse Moor Management Group


The Grouse Moor Management Group was established in November 2017. It will examine the environmental impact of grouse moor management practices such as muirburn, the use of medicated grit and mountain hare culls, and advise on the option of licensing grouse shooting businesses.

The Group will consider other topics relevant to grouse moor management, referred to it by Government, or raised by the Chair.

Final report 

The Group submitted its final report to the Cabinet Secretary for Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform, Roseanna Cunningham MSP, on 18 November 2019. The Scottish Government will give a formal response to the Group's recommendations before the Scottish Parliament in due course.


  • Professor Alan Werritty (Chair)
  • Alexander Jameson
  • Professor Alison Hester
  • Professor Colin Reid
  • Professor Ian Newton
  • Mark Oddy

Specialist advisers

  • Dr. Adam Smith
  • Dr. Calum MacDonald
  • Professor Des Thompson
  • Susan Davies


  • Karen Rentoul