Fraserburgh Taskforce


The Fraserburgh Taskforce was formed in September 2015 to support economic growth and job creation in and around the town of Fraserburgh.

The final meeting of the Fraserburgh Taskforce was held on 3 March 2017. It was agreed at that final meeting that the taskforce had been effective in its primary purpose of responding to the immediacy of the job losses.

Its objective was to help mitigate the economic impact of the loss of a major retailer contract.

The original Taskforce objectives were to develop an economic recovery plan to:

  • provide support and advice for the individuals employed at the retailer's site or in the supply chain, helping them to find alternative employment if required
  • support the communities impacted by the current uncertainty and potential future job losses
  • work with Young's Seafood to continue to highlight potential efficiency savings, training support and market opportunities
  • consider the potential changes' impact on the existing seafood industry Action Plan
  • consider the economic infrastructure of the local area to identify how to create sustainable employment in the longer term


  • Paul Wheelhouse MSP – Minister for Business, Innovation and Energy
  • Councillor Richard Thomson – Joint Leader, Aberdeenshire Council
  • Roddy Matheson – Aberdeenshire Council
  • Frank Strang – Scottish Government
  • Margaret Sutor – Scottish Government/PACE
  • Derek McCrindle – Scottish Enterprise
  • Peter Denheen – Scottish Enterprise
  • Donna Fordyce – Scottish Enterprise
  • Marion Beattie – Skills Development Scotland
  • David Oxley – Highlands and Islands Enterprise
  • Pete Ward – Young's Seafood
  • Dominic Kerrigan – Young's Seafood
  • Angie Millet – JobCentre Plus
  • Kate Cummin – USDAW
  • Alex Moonan – USDAW
  • Alex Johnstone MSP North East Scotland
  • Lewis MacDonald MSP North East Scotland
  • Stewart Stevenson MSP Banffshire and Buchan Coast
  • Councillor Peter Argyle – Aboyne, Upper Deeside and Donside
  • Eilidh Whiteford MP – Banff and Buchan
  • Allan Crockart – Scottish Seafood Association
  • Bill Mckenzie – Scottish Seafood Association
  • Michael Clark – Scottish Pelagic Processors Association
  • Bertie Armstrong – Scottish Fishermen's Federation
  • Scott Landsburgh – Scottish Salmon Producers' Organisation
  • Graham Young – Scotland Food and Drink
  • Neil Cowie – North East Scotland College
  • Andrew Ironside – Fraserburgh Harbour Commissioners
  • Patrick Machray – ONE Food, Drink and Agriculture
  • James Bream – Aberdeen and Grampian Chamber of Commerce