Drugs Policy Oversight Group


The group will meet every three months to:

  • scrutinise the Scottish Government’s plan to deliver the national mission
  • identify any gaps in the plan and share suggestions for how these may be addressed
  • provide expert advice on policy areas and service delivery as requested by Scottish Ministers
  • share best practice, including from other countries which have had success in reducing deaths and harms from drug use
  • promote accountability in the system at a national and local level
  • explore how recommendations from other governance groups could be implemented in the context of limited funding and resources


  • Angela Constance, Minister for Drugs Policy, Chair
  • Dave Liddell, CEO of Scottish Drugs Forum
  • Justina Murray, CEO of Scottish Families Affected by Alcohol and Drugs
  • Jardine Simpson, CEO of Scottish Recovery Consortium
  • Emma Crawshaw, CREW
  • Belinda Phipps, We Are With You
  • Billy Watson, Scottish Association for Mental Health
  • Sandra Holmes, lived and living experience representative
  • Rachel McGrath, lived and living experience representative
  • James Docherty, lived and living experience representative
  • Susanna Galea-Singer, Royal College of Psychiatrists committee member
  • Catriona Morton, Royal College of GPs Deputy Chair
  • Laura Wilson, Royal College of Pharmacists
  • Eddie Follan, COSLA
  • Dr Sharon Stancliff, New York City Health Department
  • Dr Michel Kazatchkine , World Health Organization Regional Office for Europe (WHO/Europe)
  • Professor Thomas Kerr PhD , Dept. of Medicine, University of British Columbia
  • Tessa Parkes, University of Stirling 
  • Andrew McAuley, Glasgow Caledonian University 
  • David Strang, Drugs Death Task force 
Back to top