Agriculture and Rural Delivery Directorate

Animal Health and Welfare Division



T: 0300-2444750

E: Animal Health Welfare@gov.scot>

CEOs of:

All Scottish Local Authorities Scottish SPCA

30th September 2021

Dear Sir / Madam

Animal Health and Welfare (Scotland) Act 2006 - Sections 32A - 32M - Authorisation of legal persons

As you may know the Animal Health and Welfare (Scotland) Act 2006 ("the 2006 Act"), has been amended by the Animals and Wildlife (Penalties, Protections and Powers) Act 2020 ("the 2020 Act"), which came into force fully on 30 September 2021.

The 2020 Act introduced new functions (under sections 32A – 32M of the 2006 Act) for authorised persons to effectively deal with animals seized to protect their welfare. Authorised persons for these functions may be legal persons and it appears appropriate for certain organisations, including organisations which employ inspectors appointed under the 2006 Act, to be authorised to carry out the functions under sections 32A - 32M of the 2006 Act so that the functions can be exercised directly by the organisations.

Therefore, the Scottish Ministers, in exercise of the power conferred by section 32A(10)(b)(ii) of the Animal Health and Welfare (Scotland) Act 2006 as amended from time to time ("the 2006 Act") authorise the organisations listed in the annex to this letter to exercise the powers in section 32A(1) of the 2006 Act and any of the other functions of an authorised person under sections 32A - 32L of the 2006 Act.

Any authorisation of an organisation named above remains in force until such time as it is revoked in relation to that organisation by the Scottish Ministers.

Yours faithfully

Andrew Voas

Andrew Voas Veterinary Head of Animal Welfare Scottish Government







Annex

Aberdeen City Council

Aberdeenshire Council

Angus Council

Argyll and Bute Council

City of Edinburgh Council

Clackmannanshire Council

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar

Dumfries and Galloway Council

Dundee City Council

East Ayrshire Council

East Dunbartonshire Council

East Lothian Council

East Renfrewshire Council

Falkirk Council

Fife Council

Glasgow City Council

Inverclyde Council

Midlothian Council

North Ayrshire Council

North Lanarkshire Council

Orkney Islands Council

Perth and Kinross Council

Renfrewshire Council

Scottish Borders Council

Scottish Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals

Shetland Islands Council

South Ayrshire Council

South Lanarkshire Council

Stirling Council

The Highland Council

The Moray Council

West Dunbartonshire Council

West Lothian Council





