We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Growth Sector Statistics


The Government Economic Strategy (GES) 2011 defines the Growth Sectors (GS) to be:

  • Food & Drink (including agriculture & fisheries)
  • Creative Industries (including digital)
  • Sustainable Tourism, Energy (including renewables)
  • Financial & Business Services
  • Life Sciences
  • Universities.

The Growth Sectors follow on from the Key Sectors as defined in GES 2007. The Key Sectors were defined using Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) 2003 codes. SIC codes are used to classify business establishments by the main type of economic activity in which they are engaged. The SIC 2003 codes were replaced by new SIC 2007 codes, which better describe the economy as it is now. Therefore the Growth Sectors have been redefined on a SIC 2007 basis.

Growth Sector Statistics are available here.

Key Sector Statistics Database

Previously to the Growth Sectors, the Government Economic Strategy (GES) 2007 devoted particular policy attention to a number of key sectors with high growth potential and the capacity to boost productivity. Since the new Government Economic Strategy 2011 these have been updated to the Growth Sectors as explained above. The Key Sector Statistics Database provided economic statistics for the six private sector dominated key sectors as set out in the GES 2007: Energy, Financial and Business Services, Food and Drink, Life Sciences, Tourism, Creative Industries.

You may wish to view statistics on the key sectors: