We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Sustainability and Seven Day Services Taskforce Interim Report


Baseline/mapping of current service levels

Given the complexity and the potential scope of this work, we are taking a phased approach. In the first phase we have chosen to focus on a number of clinical areas where patients need a seven day service. That does not indicate that other clinical areas are less important and they may be included in future phases of work. The Phase One clinical areas are as follows:

  • Major Trauma
  • Critical care
  • Acute Surgery
  • Acute Medicine
  • Coronary Care
  • Maternity and Neonates
  • Diagnostics and Investigations
  • Primary care.

To gain an understanding of the service currently provided and what the delivery models are in each of the Phase One areas, we are gathering together data and intelligence on these areas. We are also mapping the policy landscape in terms of:

  • the national work which sets out the policy direction for those services
  • whether the expectation of what a quality sustainable service for these areas has been articulated, and if so the stage implementation has reached.

Grounding our work in a strong evidence base will continue to be crucial in supporting the programme and we have highlighted that in our next steps.

Recognising the particular challenges of designing and delivering sustainable seven day services in remote and rural areas we are looking specifically at this aspect.