We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

The Strategy for the Financial Services Industry in Scotland 2008 Annual Report

DescriptionThe Strategy for the Financial Services Industry in Scotland 2008 Annual Report. Third annual report and reporting on year 4 of Strategy.
Official Print Publication DateMay 2008
Website Publication DateMay 27, 2008


success - People•Profile•Infrastructure
ISBN 978 0 7559 5733 0
This document is also available in pdf format (504k)




Strengthening the world-class workforce
Global and local profile
Improving the business infrastructure

Continued success
Contribution to the economy
International benchmarking

Year 4: Looking to the future

The Financial Services Advisory Board ( FiSAB) is the custodian and advocate of the Strategy for the Financial Services Industry in Scotland.

Current members of FiSAB are:

Rt Hon Alex Salmond MPMSP, First Minister of Scotland - FiSAB Chair
John Swinney MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Finance and Sustainable Growth
Jim Mather MSP, Minister for Enterprise, Energy and Tourism
John Campbell - Chairman, Scottish Financial Enterprise and Senior Managing Director, State Street Corporation - FiSAB Industry Deputy Chair
Ian Ferguson - Director of Underwriting, Norwich Union
David Fleming - National Officer, Unite the Union
Martin Gilbert - Chief Executive, Aberdeen Asset Management plc
Colin Matthew - Chief Executive, Strategy, International, Treasury & Asset Management, HBOS plc
Jack Perry - Chief Executive, Scottish Enterprise
Sir Muir Russell - Principal, University of Glasgow and Convener, Universities Scotland
Lisa Stephenson - Director, Lloyds TSB Scotland
Ben Thomson - Chairman, Noble Group Limited
Otto Thoresen - Chief Executive, AEGONUK
Margaret Wallace - Managing Director, Morgan Stanley
Willie Watt - Chief Executive, Martin Currie Investment Management Ltd
David Wilson - Director, Enterprise, Energy and Tourism, Scottish Government
Observer from HM Treasury

The delivery of the Strategy is managed by the Financial Services Implementation Group ( FiSIG). FiSIG's membership reflects that of the FiSAB partnership. Current members are: Liz Cairns, Unite the Union; Steven Cameron, AEGONUK; Danny Cusick, Scottish Enterprise; Douglas Greig, Scottish Government; Owen Kelly, Scottish Financial Enterprise; Margaret McGrath, Scottish Government; Mark McMullen, Scottish Development International; Helen McNeill, Lloyds TSB Scotland; Alan Murray, Standard Life; Sam Walker, Aberdeen Asset Management.

Thanks are also given to: Gordon Arthur, Scottish Financial Enterprise; Amber Batool, HM Treasury; Graeme Dickson, Scottish Government; Amanda Harvie, Scottish Financial Enterprise; Trevor Matthews; Simon Palmer, Lloyds TSB Scotland; Cathy Malone, Scottish Enterprise; Brenda Rankin, Scottish Enterprise; John Wilkes, Equal Opportunities Commission whose work contributed to this report.

Special thanks are also given to the following organisations for providing representatives to the five FiSIG-led delivery groups: Chartered Insurance Institute; Chartered Institute of Bankers in Scotland; Close the Gap; Financial Services Authority; Financial Services Skills Council; Heriot Watt University; Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland; Jobcentre Plus; Scottish Centre for Financial Education; Scottish Enterprise Glasgow; Scottish Funding Council; Scottish Investment Operations; Scottish Qualifications Authority; University of Edinburgh; University of Glasgow.

Scottish Government officials provide secretariat support to both FiSAB and FiSIG.