We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Archive

This is an archived section of the Scottish Government website. External links, forms and search may not work on archived pages and content/contact details are likely to be out of date.

This page relates to the 2007 version of the National Performance Framework. Information about the current version of the NPF is available on the Scotland Performs Home Page.

SP Two Columns

Current status

From 28 April 2008 to 31 March 2010, 712 schools were inspected. This represents 27% of all publicly funded schools open at September 2009. Of those inspected 89% were evaluated as "satisfactory or better" in all three of the quality indicators, 66% were evaluated as "good or better" and 18% were evaluated as "very good or better". In 11% of schools the positive criteria were not met.

More on School inspections

National Indicator

level

Increase the proportion of schools receiving positive inspection reports

Increase the proportion of schools receiving positive inspection reports

<Previous : Next>

Why is this National Indicator important?

If we know how well our schools are performing for our young people, we can understand how well they help our children become successful learners, confident individuals, effective contributors and responsible citizens. Achieving this outcome is not only important in its own right - it will also help us achieve almost every other National Indicator.

People are Scotland's powerhouse. For Scotland to be all it can be, all our people need to develop skills, in the widest sense, so they can fulfil their potential. This is not just about qualifications. It is about wider achievement.

Schools have a key role to play in the successful delivery of this outcome. Our reforms under Curriculum for Excellence are intended to give schools the flexibility and scope to focus on outcomes for our children and young people. Curriculum for Excellence is about providing the best possible teaching for our children and young people to help them become successful learners, confident individuals, responsible citizens and effective contributors. It is also about ensuring they have skills for learning, skills for life and skills for work.

Only in doing this can schools achieve a positive inspection report. The indicator is derived from HM Inspectorate of Education's evaluations of improvements in performance in terms of the outcomes for pupils across the full range of achievement. This includes attainment, the quality of pupils' learning experiences and how well their learning needs are met.

What will influence this National Indicator?

The role of the local authority is key in ensuring that the building blocks for positive inspection reports are in place. These are: a trained and motivated workforce; high quality leadership from the local authority and school management; a focus on teaching and learning; and the necessary support.

At school level, all staff should recognise the need for robust self-evaluation and continuous improvement and the importance of not setting limits on the expectations they have of themselves and every single one of their pupils. Local and national government should continue to provide advice on 'what works', for example as shown in The Journey to Excellence five-part resource, and effective and positive support. Curriculum for Excellence focuses on learning and teaching, fostering ambition and raising expectations. Schools also need to be rich in information and data about progress in the achievements of every learner. This approach is intended to result in improvements in outcomes for learners and, therefore, in positive inspection reports.

What is the Government's Role?

The Scottish Government sets the overall framework for Scottish school education. We work in partnership with local government to ensure the necessary building blocks are in place - an adequately sized, trained and motivated workforce, strong leadership and a curriculum which will deliver for all our young people.



How are we performing?

At present there is no representative trend information available for this indicator. The baseline data is still being collected. It is being built up from all the HMIE evaluations from school inspections that were due to be inspected from April 2008 to March 2011. There has been some delay to the timing of some of these inspections but they are planned to be inspected as soon as possible and will complete the baseline when they are finalised.

Two years of data from the three year baseline is currently available. According to this, the percentage of schools that are receiving positive inspection reports is 89%. This figure has remained at a consistent level over the two years of data collected to date.

Percentage of schools receiving positive inspection reports

Percentage of schoolsNumber of schools inspectedPercentage of schoolsNumber of schools inspected

(April 2008 - March 2010)

(April 2008 - March 2010)

(April 2008 - March 2009)

(April 2008 - March 2009)

All schools89%71288%333
Primary90%54289%253
Secondary87%10890%48
Special 180%5582%28
All-through 2-7-4

Source: Summary of Indicative Quality Indicators from HMIE Inspection, 2009 and 2010

1. All local authority run special schools including grant-aided and residential secure special schools.

2. All-through schools are those with both primary and secondary education provision within the same school.
Given the low number inspected to date percentage have not been calculated for all-through schools.

Methodology

A 'Performance Maintaining' arrow is suggested for this update as the percentage of schools that are receiving positive inspection reports has remained at a consistent level over the two years of data collected to date.

The threshold will be determined once the three-year baseline inspection cycle has been completed.

For more information see Scotland Performs Technical Note

For information on general methodological approach, please click here.

Who are our partners?

HM Inspectorate of Education

Convention of Scottish Local Authorities

Association of Directors of Education in Scotland

Learning and Teaching Scotland

Scottish Qualifications Authority

Related Strategic Objectives

Smarter

Healthier

Wealthier and Fairer



Key

Key

up

Performance Improving

level

Performance Maintaining

down

Performance Worsening

no info

Performance data currently being collected