Publication - Advice and guidance

Nutritional Guidance for Early Years: food choices for children aged 1-5 years in early education and childcare settings

Published: 23 Jan 2006
Part of:
Health and social care
ISBN:
0755947878

Nutritional guidance for early education and childcare settings for children aged 1-5

75 page PDF

965.1 kB

75 page PDF

965.1 kB

Contents
Nutritional Guidance for Early Years: food choices for children aged 1-5 years in early education and childcare settings
Appendix 5 Food for religious faiths and beliefs

75 page PDF

965.1 kB

Appendix 5 Food for religious faiths and beliefs

Families and children may choose to exclude, include, or prepare foods in a particular way according to their religious faith and beliefs.

The guidance given below on food choices for specific religious groups is very general. There will be individual differences and varying levels of adherence to religious laws which should be discussed for each child with his or her parent or guardian.

 

Meat

Poultry

Fish and Shellfish

Dairy Products

Eggs

Fruit and Vegetables

Miscellaneous

Fasting

Buddhist

Many are vegetarian but some may eat fish.

Some may be vegan.

Some may exclude.

Yes

Diet will vary depending on country of origin

Yes

Hindu

Most are vegetarian. Dairy is generally acceptable.

Those who eat meat, poultry, and fish will exclude beef.

Some may be vegan.

Some may exclude.

Yes

Strict hindus also exclude:
Tea and Coffee
Alcohol

Yes

Jewish

Pork and pork products are excluded.

Kosher beef, lamb, poultry and fish (with fins and scales) are eaten. Shellfish is not eaten.

Meat and dairy are never eaten at the same meal. Dairy may not be eaten until 3 hours after meat or poultry.

Eggs can be eaten without blood spots.

Yes

Will also exclude:
Gelatin, Fats, Emulsifiers, stabilisers, and additives from animal origin that is not kosher.

Yes

Muslim

Pork and pork products are excluded.

Halal beef, lamb, poultry, fish are eaten.

Dairy products are eaten by most.

Yes

Yes

Will also exclude:
Gelatin, Fats, Emulsifiers, stabilisers, and additives from animal origin that is not halal.
Alcohol

Yes

Sikh

Many are vegetarian.

Those who eat meat, poultry and fish will exclude beef and possibly pork.

Halal and kosher meat are not eaten.

Some may exclude.

Yes

 

No

Rastafarian

Pork and pork products are excluded.

Many will be vegetarian.

Some may be vegan.

Some may exclude.

Yes

Prefer to eat a pure and natural diet so may exclude:
coffee, alcohol, canned or non-organic foods.

Yes

Note 1: Some people within some of the faith groups identified may not observe the dietary laws stated above. Prohibitions and restrictions even within a particular faith may change between denominations or branches. Please do not take this as an authoritative list. This page is meant as a guide only.

Note 2: Tea and coffee are not recommended for children under 5 for nutritional reasons ( see section 3.3). Information about alcohol is included in this table for completeness in relation to the diets of adult members of the faith groups only.