Publication - FOI/EIR release

Senior Officials' travel between Edinburgh and London: FOI review

Published: 31 Oct 2019
Directorate:
People Directorate
Part of:
Public sector, Transport

Information request and response under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002.

Published:
31 Oct 2019
Senior Officials' travel between Edinburgh and London: FOI review
FOI reference: FOI/19/02145 Review
Date received: 18 Oct 2019
Date responded: 30 Oct 2019
Information requested

Your original request asked for:

1. Summary details of costs, frequency and methods of travel for the Scottish Government’s Permanent Secretary and Directors-General between Edinburgh and London since 1 January 2018.

2. Drafts, revisions and final copies of any internal policies, guidelines or advice relating to methods of travel to London for senior Scottish Government officials since 1 January 2018.

In your review request you asked whether there are any records relating to travel to London by Directors’ General Liz Ditchburn and Malcolm Wright that can be released?

Response

In conducting my review, I have re-examined the records held in relation to Directors’ General Liz Ditchburn and Malcolm Wright’s travel between Edinburgh and London.

I have concluded that the original decision should be confirmed, with modifications.

I have identified one further journey undertaken by Malcolm Wright during the period in question, this is detailed in Annex A. I apologise for this oversight and for the delay in providing this information.

I am satisfied that we do not hold any information which details travel by Liz Ditchburn between Edinburgh and London since 1 January 2018.  This is a formal notice under section 17(1) of FOISA that the Scottish Government does not hold this information.

Annex A

Malcolm Wright took a return flight from Edinburgh to London on the 19 June 2019 at a cost of £377.06.

 

About FOI

The Scottish Government is committed to publishing all information released in response to Freedom of Information requests. View all FOI responses at http://www.gov.scot/foi-responses.

Contact

Please quote the FOI reference
Central Enquiry Unit
Email: ceu@gov.scot
Phone: 0300 244 4000

The Scottish Government
St Andrews House
Regent Road
Edinburgh
EH1 3DG