Publication - FOI/EIR release

Revised scheme submitted by Association of Commercial Attorneys: FOI review

Published: 28 Sep 2018
Directorate:
Justice Directorate
Part of:
Public sector

Information request and response under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002.

Published:
28 Sep 2018
Revised scheme submitted by Association of Commercial Attorneys: FOI review
FOI reference: FOI/18/01987  
Date received: 21 August 2018 
Date responded: 18 September 2018
 
Information requested
  1. What objective evaluation was carried out by the Scottish government on the supporting information sent to the justice department on 16 February 2017 in regard to the revised scheme submitted in October 2016 by the Association of Commercial Attorneys?
  2. What parts, if any, of the supporting information was felt to be inadequate and how was this assessed?
  3. Did any discussions take place between the Scottish Government Justice Directorate and the Lord President's Private Office in regard to supporting information submitted on 16 February 2017 and prior to an email from Denise Swanson on 10 May.
 
Response
I have now completed my review of our response to your request under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002 (FOISA) for a review of the answers provided to you on 21 August 2018.
 
I have concluded that the original decision should be confirmed, with modifications.  You asked for that information to be reviewed on the basis that you do not consider that it fully answered your question:
 
"What parts, if any, of the supporting information was felt to be inadequate and how was this assessed?"

I have concluded that the response of 21 August set out that an assessment was conducted in the context of provisions in the Law Reform (Miscellaneous Provisions)(Scotland) Act 1990. I am content that this provides a satisfactory answer to your question but in the interests of providing additional information, an email of 25 October 2017 (below) sets out very clearly the response to submissions made by you, and that this includes the views of the LPPO.

In answer to your second point:

"did any discussions take place between the Scottish Government Justice Directorate and the Lord President's Private Office in regard to supporting information submitted on 16 February 2017 and prior to an email from Denise Swanson on 10 May."

I have concluded that we did not provide an answer to your question and I apologise that this was not done. The answer to that question is no discussions took place.
 
About FOI
The Scottish Government is committed to publishing all information released in response to Freedom of Information requests. View all FOI responses at http://www.gov.scot/foi-responses

foi-18-01987-review Information

3 page PDF
243.8 kB

Contact

Please quote the FOI reference
Central Enquiry Unit 
Email: ceu@gov.scot
Phone: 0300 244 4000 
The Scottish Government 
St Andrew's House 
Regent Road 
Edinburgh 
EH1 3DG