Publication - FOI/EIR release

Non-fuel subsidy and fuel payment anticipated: FOI review

Published: 13 Jul 2018

Information request and response under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002.

Published:
13 Jul 2018
Non-fuel subsidy and fuel payment anticipated: FOI review

FOI reference: FOI/18/01370
Date received: 15 June 2018
Date responded: 12 July 2018

Information requested

  • Information held by TS in respect of s5.9 of the PSC during the contract extension period 1 July 2017 to 31 March 2018.

  • Information held by TS in respect of Part 7 of the PSC during the contract extension period 1 July 2017 to 31 March 2018.

Response

Further to my e-mail 25 June 2018, I have completed my review of our response to your request under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002 (FOISA).

I have concluded that a different decision should be substituted.

  • Information held by TS in respect of s5.9 of the PSC during the contract extension period 1 July 2017 to 31 March 2018.

I have found that the search strategy used in the original response to locate relevant documents in our records was too wide. While the costs of locating, retrieving and providing the information requested using the search used in the original response would have exceeded the upper cost limit of £600, a more focussed search would have limited the number of documents located and would have meant that the request could have been completed within the cost limit.

Please find enclosed some of the information you have requested. While our aim is to provide information whenever possible, in this instance we are unable to provide some of the information you have requested because an exemption under section 38(1)(b) of FOISA applies to the information. The reasons why this exemption applies are explained below. Any information outwith the scope of your request has also been redacted.

  • Information held by TS in respect of Part 7 of the PSC during the contract extension period.

I have found that the search strategy used in the original response to locate relevant documents in our records was too wide. While the costs of locating, retrieving and providing the information requested using the search used in original response would have exceeded the upper cost limit of £600, a more focussed search would have limited the number of documents located and would have meant that the request could have been completed within the cost limit.

Please find enclosed some of the information you have requested. While our aim is to provide information whenever possible, in this instance we are unable to provide some of the information you have requested because an exemption under section 38(1)(b) of FOISA applies to the information. The reasons why this exemption applies are explained below. Any information outwith the scope of your request has also been redacted.

Reasons for not providing information

An exemption under section 38(1)(b) of FOISA (personal information) applies to some of the information requested because it is personal data of a third party, i.e. names and contact details of individuals, and disclosing this would contravene the data protection principles on Schedule 1 of the Data Protection Act 1998. This exemption is not subject to the 'public interest test', so we are not required to consider if the public interest in disclosing the information outweighs the public interest in applying the exemption.

About FOI

The Scottish Government is committed to publishing all information released in response to Freedom of Information requests. View all FOI responses at http://www.gov.scot/foi-responses

Contact

Please quote the FOI reference

Central Enquiry Unit
Email: ceu@gov.scot
Phone: 0300 244 4000

The Scottish Government
St Andrew's House
Regent Road
Edinburgh
EH1 3DG