Publication - Advice and guidance

Coronavirus (COVID-19): public health measures at borders (international travel)

Quarantine rules and information on the process for people entering the UK.

10 page PDF

817.9 kB

10 page PDF

817.9 kB

Coronavirus (COVID-19): public health measures at borders (international travel)
Country exemptions

10 page PDF

817.9 kB

Country exemptions

From 10 July 2020 you may not have to self-isolate when you arrive in Scotland if you are returning from one of the countries or territories listed below.

That is because these countries or territories are:

  • covered by the 'travel corridor' exemption
  • within the Common Travel Area (Ireland, the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man)

The travel corridor exemption applies to passengers arriving in Scotland from 57 overseas destinations that have similar or lower levels of coronavirus (COVID-19) infection than Scotland. Travellers from the 14 UK overseas territories will also be exempt. Arrivals will still need to complete the passenger locator form in advance of arrival. Please be aware that this list of exempt countries may change on a regular basis, and amendments can be made to the list at any point. Any changes will be made on public health grounds.

Those who arrived in Scotland from outwith the Common Travel Area before 10 July must still complete 14 days of self-isolation.

Countries and territories

From 10 July 2020, unless they have visited or transited through any non-exempt country or territory in the preceding 14 days, passengers arriving from the following countries and territories will not be required to self-isolate on arrival in Scotland.

The current list of exempt countries and territories are:

  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda   
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Croatia
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland 
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • The Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Réunion
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • St Barthélemy
  • St Kitts & Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • South Korea
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Vatican City State
  • Vietnam

British overseas territories

The following 14 UK overseas territories will also be exempt:

  • The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus
  • Anguilla
  • Bermuda       
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Falkland Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Montserrat
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

Common Travel Area

If you have arrived from the Common Travel Area (the CTA includes Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man) and have spent 14 days or less in the CTA, you need to complete the passenger locator form and complete your self-isolation period of 14 days – unless you are from an exempt country or territory above.

If you have spent longer than 14 days in the CTA (or an exempt country or territory above) immediately before your arrival, you do not need to complete the form or self-isolate.

First published: 9 Jul 2020 Last updated: 14 Jul 2020 -