This is an archived section of the Scottish Government website. External links, forms and search may not work on archived pages and content/contact details are likely to be out of date.

Scottish Police Authority (SPA)

The Police and Fire Reform (Scotland) Bill provides for Scottish Ministers to appoint a Chair and between 10-14 Members of the SPA.  These appointments will be regulated by the Code of Practice for Ministerial Appointments to Public Bodies in Scotland to ensure suitable candidates are identified through an open, fair and accessible process. 


Timetable to appoint

Vic Emery OBE has been appointed Chair of the new Scottish Police Authority, which will hold the service to account. He will be involved in the appointment of the new Chief Constable, which will be announced by mid-October.

A copy of the press release is available at: SPA Chair Announced

Applications for Members of the SPA are now closed. Interviews will take place by the end of September.

Selection Panels

Selection panels have been set up for the appointments of the Chair and Members of the SPA.  The role of the panels is to identify and recommend to Scottish Ministers those applicants who the panel believe – based on the evidence provided to them by the applicants – demonstrate the skills, knowledge and experience required for the appropriate appointment.

The Selection Panel responsible for identifying and recommending Members of the SPA is: 

  • Kenneth Hogg, Director Safer Communities, Scottish Government
  • Faith Boardman, former independent member, Metropolitan Police Authority
  • Alistair Dodds, Chief Executive, Highland Council


Registering your interest for public appointments in general

If you are interested in public appointments, you may wish to register your interest on the Scottish Government dedicated Public Appointments website. 

Please click here to access the Public Appointments website to register your interest.