We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site


Scottish Government social research into Public Services and Government is carried out by a team of researchers in a number of teams. Analysts are divided into teams according to their specialist area.

Their contact details are as follows:


Office of the Chief Researcher

Chief Researcher and Head of Education Analytical Services Division: Audrey MacDougall
E-mail chiefresearcher@gov.scot

Rod Harrison, Senior Principal Reseach Officer:
Tel: 0131 244 1575; E-mail rod.harrison@gov.scot

Gillian Cruickshank, Principal Research Officer:
Tel: 0131 244 1619; E-mail gillian.cruickshank@gov.scot

Support Staff to Chief Researcher:

Wendy Kirk:
Tel: 0131 244 0758; E-mail: wendy.kirk@gov.scot

Rik Kay:
Tel: 0131 244 1624; E-mail: richard.kay@gov.scot

Robert Taylor:
Tel: 0131 244 2111; Email: robert.taylor@gov.scot


Strategic Research  About the team

Nuala Gormley, Senior Principal Research Officer:
Tel: 0131 244 2601; Email: nuala.gormley@gov.scot

Donna Easterlow, Principal Research Officer
Angela Hallam, Principal Research Officer
Kay Barclay, Principal Research Officer:
Silvia Soriano-Rivera, Research Officer

Corporate Analytical Services  (within the Office of the Chief Statistician and Strategic Analysis)

Luke Cavanagh, Head of Corporate Analytical Services
Tel: 0131 244 3016; E-mail luke.cavanagh@gov.scot

Mariela Fordyce, Senior Research Officer
Cheryl Bell, Fast Stream

Local Governance and Reform Research

Keira Oliver, Principal Research Officer:
Tel: 0131 244 4943; Email: keira.oliver@gov.scot

Dr Justine Geyer, Principal Research Officer
Jacqueline Rae, Senior Research Officer

Strategy Unit (within Strategy, Elections and Freedom of Information Division)   About the team

Aileen McIntosh, Senior Research Officer:
Tel: 0131 244 5646; Email: aileen.mcintosh@gov.scot