We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Strategic Advisory Board for RESAS Science


The Strategic Advisory Board for RESAS Science is the Scottish Government body that is accountable for the strategic research budget. It provides oversight across the research portfolio.


  • Bridget Campbell - Director for Environment & Forestry, Scottish Government
  • Elinor Mitchell - Director of Agriculture, Food and Rural Communities, Scottish Government
  • Professor Sheila Bird - Programme Leader, MRC Biostatistics Unit, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Paul Leinster - Professor of Environmental Assessment, Cranfield University
  • Professor Iain Gillespie - Pro Vice-Chancellor Research and Enterprise, University of Leicester
  • Professor Charles Godfray - Professor of Zoology, Jesus College, Oxford
  • Professor Tim Wheeler - Director of Science and Innovation, NERC
  • Dr Paul Burrows - Director, Corporate Policy and Strategy, BBSRC
  • Dr David Pirie - Executive Director, Scottish Environment Protection Agency
  • Kenny Richmond - Economics Director, Scottish Enterprise
  • Professor Peter Morgan - Chair of Directors Executive Committee
  • Dr Stuart Fancey - Interim Director of Research and Innovation, Scottish Funding Council
  • Dr Linda Pooley - Deputy Director, Rural and Environment Science and Analytical Services, Scottish Government