We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site


Third Sector Interfaces

Interfaces provide a single point of access for support and advice for the third sector within the local area.  They provide a strong coherent and cohesive representation of the third sector with clear links to Community Planning Partnerships and Single Outcome Agreements, as detailed in John Swinney, Cabinet Secretary for Finance, Employment and Sustainability, letter to the Third Sector Interfaces, dated 21 December 2012.

Interfaces are funded to deliver the following four areas of activity across the whole local authority area:


  • Volunteering development
  • Social Enterprise development
  • Supporting and developing a strong third sector
  • Building the third sector relationship with community planning


Common Services Framework

The Common Services Framework was set up to outline the core services that all Third Sector Interfaces should provide.  This new approach to the monitoring and evaluation of the Third Sector Interfaces network is designed to make it both easier and effective to delivering added value to the third sector.

Find full details on the Common Services:

Common Values, Approaches and Services

Common Values and Services – Guidance on TSI Monitoring and Evaluation


Voluntary Action Scotland

Voluntary Action Scotland are intermediary body representing the 32 Third Sector Interfaces. Their role is to develop, support and represent the Third Sector Interfaces network through:


  • promoting the positive impact that the Third Sector Interfaces have at local   level;
  • encouraging good practice;
  • raising the profile of the Third Sector Interfaces at national level, and
  • facilitating peer support to our colleagues in the network.

Find out more about Voluntary Action Scotland

Voluntary Action Scotland have commissioned a report which explores the role, impact and potential of Third Sector Interfaces, summarising their activities and outcomes during 2012-13.  Click here for the full report.


Click on the links below to find contact details and further information on each of the 32 Interfaces.








Argyll and Bute

North Ayrshire

City of Edinburgh

North Lanarkshire



Dumfries and Galloway

Perth & Kinross



East Ayrshire

Scottish Borders

East Dunbartonshire


East Lothian

South Ayrshire

East Renfrewshire

South Lanarkshire




West Dunbartonshire


West Lothian


Western Isles