We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Youth Justice Improvement Board

At a national level, the Youth Justice Improvement Board will drive a culture of improvement in youth justice to make a sustained impact on priority areas, which will be kept under review.  Its primary role is to support the delivery of the Youth Justice Strategy and, in particular, its priorities around:

  • Advancing the whole system approach

  • Improving life chances

  • Developing capacity and improvement

The Board is supported by 3 implementation groups, supported by the Centre for Youth and Criminal Justice.


SG Children & Families Directorate Michael Chalmers (Chair)

Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)

Mike Callaghan

Scottish Children’s Reporter Administration (SCRA)

Neil Hunter

Children’s Hearings Scotland (CHS)

Boyd McAdam

Scottish Prison Service (SPS)

Brenda Stewart


Gill Robinson

Centre for Youth & Criminal Justice (CYCJ)

Claire Lightowler

Education Scotland

Ann Kivlin

Child Health Commissioners

Gary Dover

Police Scotland

John McKenzie

Crown Office & Procurator Fiscal Service (COPFS)

Anthony McGeehan


Katie Stewart

Action for Children

Paul Carberry


Angela Morgan

National Youth Justice Advisory Group (NYJAG)

Diane Dobie

Social Work Scotland (SWS)

replacement member to be identified

Scottish Association of Local Authority Chief Executives (SOLACE)

Malcolm Burr

Community Justice Scotland

Karyn McCluskey

Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service (SCTS)

Tim Barraclough

SG Safer Communities

Wendy Wilkinson

SG Community Justice

Linda Pollock

SG Chief Social Work Adviser

Iona Colvin