We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

The Justice Board

The Justice Board Remit

The remit of the Justice Board is to lead the justice system organisations to deliver the outcomes of Justice in Scotand: Vision and Priorities through a collaborative and proactive approach. The Board meets nine times per year.

The Role of Justice Board Members

Members will:

  • engage proactively in the work of the Board
  • align their organisations, whilst respecting their constitutional positions
  • ensure a collective approach across organisational boundaries, including a collective approach towards policy development and delivery; resolving any tensions which may arise
  • lead cultural change in their organisations so that all staff collaborate to achieve justice outcomes
  • in prioritising work, consider the impact and justice outcomes for the justice system as a whole
  • ensure that the user experience and quality of services is central to the delivery of justice outcomes
  • share proposed changes in their individual organisations before they happen so that wider implications on planning assumptions can be considered and addressed
  • communicate widely our shared priorities and activities

The Members


Michael Chalmers Director of Children & Families, Scottish Government

Philip Gormley

Chief Constable, Police Scotland
David Harvie Crown Agent, Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service

Alasdair Hay

Chief Officer, Scottish Fire and Rescue Service

Kenneth Hogg Interim Chief Officer, Scottish Police Authority

Neil Hunter

Chief Executive, Scottish Children’s Reporter Administration

Colin Lancaster

Chief Executive, Scottish Legal Aid Board

Iain Livingstone Deputy Chief Constable, Police Scotland
Karyn McCluskey Chief Executive, Community Justice Scotland

Colin McConnell

Chief Executive, Scottish Prison Service

Linda McKay Non-Executive Director, Scottish Government

Eric McQueen

Chief Executive, Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service

Neil Rennick (Co-Chair)

Director, Justice, Scottish Government

Gillian Russell (Co-Chair)

Director, Safer Communities, Scottish Government

For more information

If you have any questions regarding the Justice Board, please email Suzanne.Lyle@gov.scot.