We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site


This content is no longer being updated. You can find the latest Standing Council on Europe content on https://beta.gov.scot/.

First Minister's Standing Council on Europe

First Minister's Standing Council on Europe

A Standing Council on Europe has been established. Members will consider the impact of proposed changes to the UK’s relationship with the EU on Scottish interests and advise Ministers throughout our negotiations on the best way to secure Scottish interests and objectives.

You can read the full press release here

The current membership is as follows:

  • Chair: Professor Sir Anton Muscatelli, Principal and Vice Chancellor, University of Glasgow
  • Malcolm Burr, Chief Executive, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar
  • Vasco Cal, former economic adviser at the European Commission
  • Professor Sir David Edward, European Court Judge
  • Dame Anne Glover, former chief scientific adviser to President Barosso
  • Charles Grant, Centre for European Reform, London
  • Sir John Grant, former UK Permanent Representative to the EU
  • Professor John Kay, financial markets
  • Lord Kerr, diplomat, deputy chair ScottishPower, Carnegie Trust
  • Dame Mariot Leslie, diplomat
  • David Martin, MEP
  • Amanda McMillan, CEO Glasgow Airport
  • Professor Alan Miller, former chair of the Scottish Human Rights Commission
  • The Rt Hon Sir George Reid, former Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament
  • Anne Richards, M&G Investments & Edinburgh University Court
  • Professor Frances P. Ruane, Irish academic economist & former director of ESRI
  • Alyn Smith, MEP
  • Grahame Smith, STUC, Scotland Europa
  • Professor Andrew Scott, University of Edinburgh
  • Fabian Zuleeg, European Policy Centre, Brussels


Minutes and Agendas are available on the following page.