We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Reference Group

The Prescription for Excellence Reference Group held its fourth meeting on the morning of Wednesday November 4, 2015 in Edinburgh.

The Group received a presentation on the Chief Pharmaceutical Officer’s strategic priorities that included refreshing and advancing the PfE Programme. This was followed by an update on the revised programme delivery structure. The update included considerations for strategy, the approach to business change and improvement and organisation of the Programme for delivery. The Group contributed to the development of these areas through a workshop and group discussion.  

The Group also explored how it could best support the development of the Programme and its outputs. It was agreed this could be achieved by engaging electronically with all members of the Reference Group, or subsets thereof, on specific outputs of the Programme as and when they arise, but also retaining the meeting format to bring the wider stakeholder mix together. It was acknowledged that the Group is a valuable resource, with a breadth of expertise, which the Programme should utilise as far as possible.    

The Group also received feedback from the Steering Board's meeting in June 2015 and on project activity. The Group were encouraged by the work that had taken place during this time.  

A date for the Reference Group's next meeting will be confirmed as soon as possible.  


Joint Chairs

Mr Rob Darracott

Mr Bob Nicholls


  • Alpana Mair, Adviser – Deputy Chief Pharmaceutical Officer, Scottish Government
  • David Jamieson, Secretariat, Scottish Government
  • Corinne Telford, Adviser – Senior Project Manager
  • Sandra Auld, Association of British Pharmaceutical Industry
  • Dr Andrew Buist, Scottish General Practitioners' Committee
  • Amy Cattell /  Paul Dunlop, Early year pharmacists working in community
  • Lynsey Cleland, General Pharmaceutical Council
  • Laura Davidson, University of Strathclyde fourth year pharmacy student
  • Gordon Dykes, National Pharmacy Association
  • Rachel Fairley, British Pharmaceutical Students' Association
  • James Gall  / Bartosz Was, Early year pharmacists working in hospital
  • Christine Gilmour, Director of Pharmacy
  • Ryan Leitch, University of Dundee fourth year medical student
  • Alex MacKinnon, Royal Pharmaceutical Society
  • Margaret MacRury, Company Chemists' Association
  • Dr Martin McCrone, Primary Care Strategic Forum
  • Margaret McDonald, Patient Representative, The ALLIANCE
  • Tom McEwan, Guild of Healthcare Pharmacists
  • Harry McQuillan, Community Pharmacy Scotland
  • Prof Alex Mullan, University of Strathclyde – staff representative
  • Carol Nairn, Association of Pharmacy Technicians UK
  • Irene Oldfather, The ALLIANCE
  • Fiona Porter, Deputy Director of Finance
  • Swaran Rakhra, Scottish Care
  • Dr Andrew Russell, Medical Director
  • Margaret Ryan, Scottish Prescribing Advisers Association (SPAA)
  • Campbell Shimmins, AlbaPharm
  • Michael Smith, Robert Gordon University fourth year pharmacy student
  • Iain Speirits, Pharmacists' Defence Association
  • Prof Derek Stewart, Robert Gordon University – staff representative
  • Fiona Stewart / Andrew Radley, Primary Care Pharmacy Group / Public Health Pharmacists Group
  • Vince Summers, National Acute Pharmacists Group
  • David Thomson, Scottish Government Primary Care Division
  • Representative of Social Work Scotland
  • TBC, Health and Social Care Partnership Representative
  • TBC, RCN Scotland
  • TBC, NHS Education for Scotland