We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

Consultation on Proposed College Transfer and Closure Orders


The colleges below have sought approval from Scottish Ministers to proceed with their intention to become single institutions which will be achieved by means of the formal closure of some colleges and the transfer of the property and rights of these colleges to the colleges highlighted in bold.  The intention is that these colleges will later be renamed, though that will be subject to formal Ministerial approval at a later stage.  It is understood that no campus closures are planned. 

  • Aberdeen College of Further Education  and Banff and Buchan College of Education - Aberdeenshire Region.
  • North Glasgow College, John Wheatley College and Stow College - Glasgow North and East Region.
  • Motherwell College and Cumbernauld College - Lanarkshire Region.
  • Dundee College and Angus College of Further Education - Tayside Region.

These colleges have recently completed consultation exercises which sought the views of their stakeholders.  Analyses of those exercises will inform the Cabinet Secretary’s decision on whether to approve the action which the merging colleges wish to take.

The closure of a college requires Scottish Ministers to exercise their powers under section 3(1)(c) of the Further and Higher Education (Scotland) Act 1992 (“the Act”).  Where Scottish Ministers propose to exercise this power, there is a requirement, under section 5(1) of the Act, to consult the education authority for the area in which the colleges are situated as well as any other person appearing to be affected by the proposal. Consultation letters issued on 7 June 2013. A Copy of these can be found below.

Download Consultation Letters

For response by 17:00 on 8 July 2013