We are testing a new beta website for gov.scot go to new site

National Advisory Group

The National Advisory Group is designed to provide formal expression of the guiding coalition that supports the DYW programme: through its members it will be able to promote the associated vision to stakeholders across Scotland.


  • Deputy First Minister John Swinney; Councillor Stephen McCabe , COSLA (joint retained chair)
  • Sir Ian Wood
  • Minister for Employability and Training, Jamie Hepburn
  • Brian Johnstone (Regional College Chair, Dumfries & Galloway)
  • John Fyffe (President, Association of Directors of Education in Scotland)
  • Tbc (Chair, National Parent Forum Scotland)
  • Larry Flanagan (EIS General Secretary)
  • Grahame Smith (STUC General Secretary, Wood Commissioner)
  • Ben McKendrick (Chief Executive, Scottish Youth Parliament)
  • Polly Purvis (Executive Director ScotlandIS: trade body for ICT industry in Scotland)
  • Morna Simpson (founder of Girl Geek Scotland, Managing Director of FlockEdu)
  • Annag Maclean (Headteacher, Castlebay High)
  • Elma Murray (SOLACE representative)
  • Rob Woodward (CE, STV)